My future doctor

Last Wednesday.

I sat there, breathing through another uncomfortable contraction.  Hey, this breathing thing actually works!  When there’s no pain!

Evan: Mommy, are they going to cut you open to get the baby?

Me: (chuckle) No, sweetheart.  They do that for some women, but I doubt they’ll do that to me.

Evan: Oh.  Ok.

He ran off.  I sighed.  Like I needed The-how-do-babies-get-out-of-Mommy’s-womb talk during labor.

A couple hours later.

Evan: Mommy, I’m going to be a doctor.

Me: Awesome.

Evan: (pulling out his Kung Fu Panda sword) And I’m going to help you.  Let me cut you open and get the baby.  (He sliced me open.)

Me: Thanks, baby.

4 Responses to “My future doctor”

  1. blackhuff Says:

    At least he made you laugh during labor :)

  2. wallybear Says:

    Sooooo cute…

  3. Fie Upon This Quiet Life Says:

    haha. What a clever little guy.

  4. Jane Says:

    I love how my little boys always want to “help mommy feel better.” Last week, I got popsicles from them for my strep throat. Sounds like you have a future surgeon on your hands!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 273 other followers

