Morning Bird

It’s 6:00 am.  I hate 6:00 am.  I hate 5:00 am more.  But 6:00 am is up there.  

Evan was up, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, at 6:00 am, after spending 20 minutes around 2:15 am discussing Skylanders.  There are a few things I’m ok with being awoken at 2:15 for.  A discussion on Skylanders is not one of them.

At 6:30 am, Evan was finished with his morning routine except for eating breakfast.

Evan: I’m a MORNING BIRD!

Me: (still pretending to be sleeping) Huh?

Evan: I’m a MORNING BIRD!

He’s perky.  If it wasn’t for his relation to me and his cuteness, I would say he was f-ing perky and thrown something at him.

Me: (mumbling into the pillow) I know.

Evan: I’m the MOST MORNINGEST BIRD because I GOT UP BEFORE EVERYONE ELSE!

Then he jumped on my bed.

And I heard Aidan’s music box start playing.  I looked up to see Sean running with his blanky to join the party on my bed.

God has a sick sense of humor to give me, a night owl, three morning birds. 

God, there has to be a law somewhere against perky morning people.  And I have to live with them.

3 Responses to “Morning Bird”

  1. Karyn @ kloppenmum Says:

    Our house too, although I’ve given in and become a morning bird on account of all the chirpiness turning rapidly to custard if I’m not up and about. I don’t mind dawn, but do wish I could stay up a leetle bit later at night! sigh. Motherhood!

  2. Multifarious meanderings Says:

    My morning bird used to pull my eyelids open at 4.30 am saying “Are you awake? Cos I am…” Luckily, he has now grown out of early rises, and I even get the pleasure of pulling HIS eyelids open for school now….


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 273 other followers

