I never thought….

Two things to cross of things-I-never-thought-I-would-say list.

I took the boys to the park on Sunday.  As I pushed Aidan on the swing, Evan and Sean tried to get a few kids to play with them.  They were too far away for me to hear what the conversation was about, but I could read Evan’s body language as he gave them his pitch.  My little extrovert.  My little salesman.  My little leader.

Evan: You guys can be the Nazis!

Now that was clear enough for all the adults surrounding the playground to hear. 

Imaginary facepalm. 

Remain calm.

Me: (pitching my voice just under The Voice level) Evan!  Come here.  Now.

Evan ran over.

Evan: Hi, Mommy!  What do you want?

Me: (deep breath) We don’t make other people Nazis.

Evan: But we’re going to play Indiana Jones!

Me: We. Do Not. Make other people. Nazis.

Evan: But Mommy!

Me: Play a different game.  Have different enemies.  But we do not play Nazis.  Do you understand?

Evan: Yes, Mommy.

He walked off. 

I’m really starting to regret buying him that video game.

***

As I was reading, Sean ran into the room.

Sean: MOMMY!

Me: What?

Sean: Girls pee from here, right?!  (He pointed to his crotch.)

Me: Yes.

Sean: Ok!  (He ran out of the room.)  Daddy!  I was right!  Girls do pee from there!  Mommy told me!

Um, ok. 

Now technically I knew that conversation was coming.  I just didn’t expect to discuss it in that manner.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 271 other followers

