Unlock. . . Lock. . . Unlock . . . Lock

Mommy!  Mommy!  Can you get the game now?  Mommy!  Please, Mommy?  Now?  Can you please get the game now?  Can you go out to the car and get the game now, Mommy?  Please?  Mommy!  Mommy?  Mommy?  You said you’d get the game after dinner.  Mommy, are you finished with dinner?  You’re done eating, Mommy.  Can you get the game now?  Mommy?  Mommy!  I want to play the game now.  Please can you go get it?  Mommy.  Now.  Get done talking.  Aren’t you done yet, Mommy?  Please, Mommy.  Get the game.  I want to play the game, Mommy.  You said I could play the game.  Please, Mommy.  Please go get the game, Mommy.  Mommy?  Are you listening?  Are you done, Mommy?  Can you get the game now, Mommy?  Please.  Mommy?

Tornado E created the sound track to after dinner conversation at my parents’ house.

My mom: You should make him wait and not interrupt you when you’re talking with adults.

Me: Yes, Mother.

Was anyone else listening?  I tuned him out after the first whiny “mommy” came out of his mouth.

Me: Tornado E, let me finish this story, and then I will talk to you.

It dawned on me that I could see my truck from where I sat.  I bet I could click it unlock.  I clicked it.  It beeped and flashed its lights.  Hmmm.

Me: Tornado E, you can go get the game.  It’s unlocked.  Next time wait patiently.

Tornado E: OK, MOMMY!

He ran out of the room, out of the house, and down the walk to the sidewalk.  Just as he reached the door.

My dad: Lock it!

I clicked it.  The truck beeped and flashed its lights.

Tornado E tried the handle.  He ran back to the house.  When he got halfway to the house, I clicked the truck unlocked.

Tornado E stopped and ran back to the car.

I clicked it locked.

My dad and I were laughing.  Tears were forming in my eyes.  I was laughing so hard I forgot to unlock it.  Tornado E ran into the house and into the room.

Tornado E: Mommy, the car is locked.

Me: Ok.  Ok.  Here.

I clicked it unlocked, and Tornado E ran outside.  Just as he got to the truck door, I clicked it lock again.  My dad and I burst into more laughter.

Tornado E turned around to head for the house.  I clicked it unlock as he ran a few steps.  He turned, and I clicked it lock again.  He turned to talk to Tornado S.  I clicked it unlock.  Tornado E grabbed the door and pulled it open before I could click it again.  He rummaged around and pulled out the game.  All three boys ran into the house.

My dad and I were doubled over in laughter.

Tornado E: Thanks, Mommy.  I got it.

The boys ran off to play the Wii.  My dad and I took several minutes to collect ourselves.

Kids can give you such joy.

One Response to “Unlock. . . Lock. . . Unlock . . . Lock”

  1. Court Says:

    Reminds me of that commercial with the boy in the Vader costume and the dad with the remote starter button!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 271 other followers

