Tiki Tornado E and Tiki Tornado S

Since the Disneyland trip, Tornado E has been running around the house calling himself a Tiki.  I’m sure he doesn’t know what it means.  Yesterday he put the laundry basket on his, and it fell to land mostly on his back, so that he looks like he has some sort of weird veil.  He loved it, yelling “Look, Mommy, I’m a Tiki!”  Tornado S ran after him.  Then Tornado E tried to sing the Tiki Room song, only he couldn’t remember all the words, so he asked me to sing.

“In the tiki, tiki, tiki, tiki room. 

In the tiki, tiki, tiki, tiki room,

All the birds sing, and the flowers croon,

In the tiki, tiki, tiki, tiki room.”

So now Tornado E tried to sing the song.  The tiki lines came out slow, and he always says the flowers grow.  Tornado S started to dance to his brother’s singing.  Then they began to stomp their feet as Tornado E shouted it was the angry rain gods.  After a little rain dance, Tornado E went back to singing the Tiki Room song.  Then after he has sang enough, he bowed and said “Thank you, thank you.”  If I don’t clap, he tells me I should.  Of course, Tornado S now knows with the first “Thank you” to clap.  Well, at least they’re playing together and using their imaginations.  I wonder if I should get them a Tiki.

2 Responses to “Tiki Tornado E and Tiki Tornado S”

  1. tigerlily Says:

    That’s so funny. (Especially love the big bow at the end.) My grandmother had an album (actual record) with that song on it, and whenever we visited her, the kids would sing the “In the Tiki Tiki Tiki Tiki Tiki room” part over and over again. It must be really appealing to kiddos.

  2. faemom Says:

    Evan’s a ham. I’m not even sure where he picked up the thank you’s and the bow. And you’re right about the song. I remembered it from my childhood, because once you’re tall enough for the big rides, why waste time with “rides” that don’t move.


Leave a Reply

