Hey what’s this below my penis? (a Three-year-old’s exploration of his body)

We were sitting on our separate toilets when Tornado E noticed a “new” part of his anatomy.

 

Tornado E: Mommy, what are these?

 

He was tugging on his balls.

 

Me: They are your testes.  Or some people call them balls.

 

Tornado E: (His hands still moving and manipulating his sack.) What are they?

 

Me: Your testes or balls.

 

Tornado E: (He sperates them to notice there are actually two.) What are they? (for?)

 

Me: They’re part of your penis.  All boys have them.  I’ll explain more when you get older.

 

Tornado E: (He stops to look at me to emphasize his question.) What do they DO?

 

Me: Well . . . um . . . they’re for makingbabies.  (cough)

 

Pondering silence.

 

Tornado E: That’s weird!  I go potty now!  But when I’m older I’ll make babies!

 

Me: Sure.  (We’ll go with that for now.  I wasn’t expecting those questions until I was pregnant again.)  Are you done peeing now?

 

Beyond the door, in the office, I hear faint chuckling.  Next time, I’ll tell Tornado E to ask his Father.

 

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

5 Responses to “Hey what’s this below my penis? (a Three-year-old’s exploration of his body)”

  1. ck Says:

    Dear Evan,

    Now that you have discovered what will shape the next 25 years or so, I wish you and yourself a lifetime of happiness, harmony and zero access to your mother’s blog.

    Sincerely,
    CK

  2. KathyB! Says:

    Oh my. I would have just fallen off MY toilet and ended the whole thing by being rushed to the hospital for stitches.

  3. polymerclaysnails Says:

    LMAO!! I love the faint chuckling beyond the door in the office … you handled that very well … I would have started crying and made the situation that much worse!

  4. C Says:

    I would have sent him straight to daddy. DH always sends them to me when they ask questions about his body parts. He recently peed in front of our 19 month old and she held herself…a sure sign she is ready to at least be introduced to the potty chair. The other girls want to know why daddy stands up to pee and he makes me explain…

  5. faemom Says:

    ck~ Ah, Ck, we’re still a hear out from all of Sean’s penis stories.

    KathyB!~ I’m very good a keep a straight face 🙂

    Polymer~ Yeah, I can’t wait to have a daughter and some revange.

    C~ DH cheats!


Leave a Reply

