236 Things . . .

No, just kidding.  Why would I torture you?  So I’ve always wanted to do one of those one hundred things list, and I didn’t do one when I did my hundredth post.  But it looks fun.  And it’s easier than phoning it in because I really need to call a bunch of places, and I have to cut out hearts for Valentine projects, and I have to call my parents because I didn’t yesterday and they may assume the worse.  Ok, my mom would assume the worse, and my dad will say I was busy.  Parents.  So here it goes.

 

  1. I lettered nine times in high school.
  2. Three times in swimming.
  3. Three times in drama.
  4. Three times in academics.
  5. My husband thinks that was too easy.
  6. He was a football player in high school.
  7. One year, JV
  8. I think he’s jealous.
  9. Yes, I do have a letterman jacket.
  10. I wore it with pride.
  11. Yes, I can swim circles around my husband.
  12. I was a breaststroker.
  13. I am impressed with Michael Phelps.
  14. Or any one who can do the butterfly well.
  15. I hate the butterfly stroke.
  16. I feel like I’m going to drown.
  17. I was a drama nerd.
  18. I owned the shop.
  19. I was a tyrant.
  20. I was nicknamed “tyrant” in college.
  21. In a creative writing class.
  22. Yes, it’s a funny story.
  23. Yes, maybe I will post that one day.
  24. I’m also addicted to sugar.
  25. In college, I did sugar shots.
  26. Yes, I realize that was unhealthy and crazy.
  27. I was straight edge.
  28. Well, except the sex thing.
  29. Now we know my mom will read this.
  30. She prefers to remain in the dark.
  31. I promise you I’ve had fewer partners than my brother, Mom.
  32. That just disturbed her.
  33. That’ll teach her for reading my blog.
  34. Or any one else.
  35. I had a kiddie pool in my dorm room.
  36. With water.
  37. I wanted it to break.
  38. So that they would have to publish “no kiddie pools” in the dorm rules.
  39. And freshmen would be like “Who the hell would do that?”
  40. I seek shallow immortality.
  41. I hung a dog collar with a bell on the statue of the school mascot.
  42. It was a panther.
  43. I instructed all freshmen to call it the Kitty.
  44. Hey, it’s better than the Pussy.
  45. Yes, my best friend and I debated that for hours.
  46. I stole signs with my best friend.
  47. Including the Republican Headquarters 3 by 6 Bush Cheney 2000 sign.
  48. We didn’t own a car.
  49. We had to run it the several blocks back to our dorm room.
  50. We didn’t get caught.
  51. We did get caught dying the fountain with red Kool-Aid
  52. And put on probation for the semester.
  53. We were both honor students.
  54. And active in our separate church organizations.
  55. They didn’t catch us the other times we messed with the fountain.
  56. Or when we made all the exit signs of the parking structure blink.
  57. Didn’t I mention I was straight-edge without a car in college?
  58. Ok, this is harder than I thought.
  59. I was named after a heroine in a romance novel my mom was reading when she was pregnant.
  60. She doesn’t remember the name of the book.
  61. The rest of my family was convinced I would be a boy.
  62. I’m descended from a long line of eldest boys.
  63. My mom was sure I was a girl.
  64. She refused to pick out a boy name.
  65. My dad insists he would have named me Ebenezer.
  66. I’m glad I’m a girl.
  67. I was a girly girl.
  68. Until second grade.
  69. I decided I wanted to play softball.
  70. My parents couldn’t believe it.
  71. It was downhill from there.
  72. I’ve played basketball and volleyball too.
  73. I’m really not that great of an athlete.
  74. I’m a daydreamer.
  75. I “wrote” my first story at 4.
  76. It was twenty pages of scribbles with the occasional picture.
  77. I had an imaginary best friend.
  78. I had her longer than is healthy.
  79. I had a whole imaginary world.
  80. Have you ever scene Heavenly Creatures?
  81. I wasn’t that crazy.
  82. Well, I did think I was an anime cartoon for a summer.
  83. In high school.
  84. Yes, I have been to a shrink.
  85. Why do you ask?
  86. Seriously, I was suicidal my senior year in high school.
  87. I got counseling.
  88. What helped the most was having my schedule shaken for two weeks.
  89. I don’t know why it worked.
  90. My mom refuses to acknowledge that I was suicidal.
  91. I went to a counselor in college too.
  92. That helped a lot.
  93. Let’s not end this on a downer.
  94. I have a library of over two hundred books and growing.
  95. I have no nicknames that I like.
  96. I don’t have any tattoos yet.
  97. I’m planning one after my last kid.
  98. I should have pierced my belly button before kids.
  99. I always wanted to dye my hair bright blue.
  100. I plan to do that when I turn 65.
15 Responses to “236 Things . . .”

  1. KathyB! Says:

    Phew. That made me tired just reading it — I can only imagine it was hard work to put together!! The most funny thing that you and I have in common is that we’re both named after romance novel heroines. Crazy moms!

  2. outside voice Says:

    What a great voice. It sounds like you had some rough times in hs for sure, and I’m so glad that you received the appropriate support and are still here to blog and be wonderful. (((Fae)))

    I was a swimmer too, among other things, bstroke as well! Go, us!

  3. The Violinist Says:

    #25…i remember you doing that. a lot.
    #35 and #36…. it also had rubber duckies floating in it. What a complete waste of what minimal dorm room space we had. But it was awesome.
    #51… didn’t it get on your hands? That is probably one of the only times campus safety did something that wasn’t…oh wait. nevermind. they were still useless.
    #55… it smelled like grape for a week. Even after it got cleaned out.
    #100… you shouldn’t wait till you are 65.

    oh, and you also had a men’s room sign on the door to the shared bathroom. I left it there when we moved out at the end of sophomore year accidentally 😦 His name was Kane.

  4. C Says:

    Great call in!! I am impressed, xoxo~C

  5. Steph Says:

    That was hilarious! I think I would’ve gotten along great with you in college.

    I totally wish that kiddie pool would’ve broken. That would be a great rule.

  6. mediocreperfectionist Says:

    “I seek shallow immortality” LOVE IT!!! Great list. I’m not sure I feel like I know you better but I am sure I’m more curious to!

  7. faemom Says:

    To the Violinist.
    We had some awesome times with the kiddie pool. Remember when you dropped your sleeping shirt in it? I tried not to laugh.
    As for #51, which I might NOW have to explain the whole thing in a post. I did NOT get it on my hands; THAT was my partner in crime. Now I will take the blame and say I should have had that covered. As the cop pointed out, we should have glued our hands or worn gloves. Other than that they couldn’t prove anything; not even a crime because we didn’t permantly damage the fountain. It wasn’t even a tinge pink the next day. No sense of humor. As for campus safety, I have to defend them because they did their job very well a couple months later when . . . well, you know, the incidents.
    When do you think I should dye my hair? And I have a women’s bathroom sign from the law building. And it wasn’t stolen; it was a gift from a school official.

  8. faemom Says:

    KathyB!~ But does your mom know which book?
    OV~ Thanks for the support; I tend not to dwell on it other than making sure I keep a close eye out for future depression or post-partum. But go swimming! Did you do any other strokes?
    C~ Actually I do my best work when I phone it in. You have no idea how many A reports were started at 1am the night before they were due. Shh. Don’t tell OV; she’ll give me that professor-disappiontment look.
    Steph~ I know!! I knew the person who got candles outlawed. She was like seven years older and nearly burned down her dorm room.
    mediocre~ Like onions and ogres, I have many layers. 🙂

  9. The Violinist Says:

    i think that if we had lived on a 2nd or 3rd floor (not on the 1st) and the pool had broken, then we might have made the rule book…

  10. faemom Says:

    You don’t think damaging their carpet would be enough? And rusting out the furniture? They made us pay 500 bucks to clean the fountain! I totally think they would have been pissed over a little water and their crappy carpet.

  11. The Violinist Says:

    why do i think that they didn’t charge the international students who lived behind us freshman year to clean our carpet when they caused their bathroom to flood, and in turn, our room? I hurt my back because of that! Lame.

  12. outside voice Says:

    I did them all, though mostly breaststroke and freestyle (I loathed doing butterfly, like you, and I wasn’t as strong on backstroke). I liked the relays because there wasn’t so much pressure on one person, you know? What were your events?

  13. faemom Says:

    Is this post taking a life of its own or what?

    The Violinist~ Knowing how greedy the Weasel is. Yes, I do think they charged the ELS students, but they’re rich. I’m still thankful it wasn’t me. :-b
    OV~ I mainly did breast. I didn’t have a good enough start for anything else. Near the end of my high school days, I discovered I kicked ass in 50 back. One year I went undefeated until championships when my coach forget to register me. *sigh* The only chance for a metal.

  14. Evenshine Says:

    This was great, though I agree that I don’t think I know you any better from reading it! I was also a drama nerd- majored in it along with English. The swimming pool sounds great, especially with rubber duckies!
    Who is The Violinist? Friend from college, obviously, but blogger or not?

  15. faemom Says:

    Ooh, you took drama-nerding to a whole other level than I did. I decided I didn’t have the heart to continue, but I’m impressed with your double majors. The Violinist is not a blogger . . . yet. But we’ll see what we can do for her. She’ll be a mommy soon so maybe when she returns to some lucidity she may be convienced to blog.


Leave a Reply

