Paying Respects

Not too long ago, I thought I would never get Tornado E potty-trained.  But now he goes, pulls up his pants, washes his hands, and returns to whatever he was doing without telling me.  Sometimes I’ll walk in to the bathroom and notice the urine, wondering how long that was sitting in the potty, while the plastic soaked up the scent.  Recently he has been caught trying to dump the urine on his own without any help what so ever.  That’s not a good thing.

Since pooping is so new to us, Tornado E runs to tell me he’s done it as soon as his done.  We do our little victory dance.  We run back to the bathroom so that I can inspect and dumb the poop.  As Tornado E washes his hands, I plop the poop into the toilet. 

Tornado E insists he has to flush the toilet.  He puts his left hand on the lever.  He waves goodbye to his poop with his right.  He says, “Goodbye, poop!  Go be with your family!”  Then he flushes.

If all the poop comes from the same place, then they must be family.  If all the poop goes to the same place, it must be a family reunion.  Right?

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

8 Responses to “Paying Respects”

  1. Ink Says:

    Right, indeed! (And that’s good closure…)

  2. ck Says:

    Psst…hey, Evan. Over here! Hey, why don’t you dump your poopies down the toilet too? Mommy will be SO proud. (So will your nefarious Auntie CK.)

  3. ymK Says:

    I think kids are possessive about their poop. Mine gets quite annoyed if I flush hers. ‘I wanted to do it. Its mine,’ she says.

  4. KathyB! Says:

    There is a might component of control that swirls (pun!) around all things poop — the making? The flushing? Tread lightly… It’s funny to thuink about!

    And I made your cupcake daffodils with the girls and they’re adorable! Ours are more like sunflowers as I added a few more steps to make it more complicated for their ages but they’re beautiful. We taped them to the kitchen window where the ligth comes in and it’s great 🙂

  5. tlc Says:

    My 3 yr old trys to make a new one when I flush his cherished turd (after he purposefully neglects to flush it himself). Not sure why he wants to keep it where he can see it. I’ll have to run the family reunion philosophy by him and see if it changes anything..

  6. faemom Says:

    Ink~ Good point. Gotta tell that to the husband who finds it too weird.
    ck~ You’re awesome. I think it may take a few months as he is only know trying to help dump the urien, with mix results.
    ymK~ I agree. Evan gests annoyed to when I flush without him.
    KathyB!~ I tread as lightly as I can, but it is completely hilarious.
    tlc~ Ha. Maybe it’ll work. Maybe we should come up with all kinds of things poop do done in the sewers like have games and parties and such.

  7. Gibby Says:

    No offense to Evan or his poops, but that is one reunion I most likely would skip.

    Glad the potty-training is going so well!

  8. faemom Says:

    You and me both, Gibby. You and me both.


Leave a Reply

