Confusing Biology

As I sat peeing, Tornado E came in to see me.

Tornado E: Oh, I have to pee too!

Tornado E sat on his potty and started peeing.

Tornado E: Mommy, are you peeing from your bottom?

I see that our biology is a little weak.  But do I want to explain what a urethra is?  Should I keep it simple, allowing for years of misinformation and misunderstanding of the female body.  Forgive me, future biology teachers, I’ll correct it my mistake before he comes to you.

Me: No.  Girls have a vagina.  That’s where they pee.

Tornado E: Oh.  Mommy, where is your gina?

Me: (standing up and pulling my underwear and pants on.  I point to my crotch.)  Here.

Tornado E: Can I see your gina?

Excuse me?  You can see one in sex ed when you’re older.  You’re can see a real one when you’re in college and in love.

Me: No.  It’s private.

A few hours later, I was washing some dishes, when I heard my husband peeing with the door open. Tornado E heard him too and joined him.

Tornado E: Daddy, do you have a gina?

My husband: No!

Ok, we’re still having issues with human biology.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

16 Responses to “Confusing Biology”

  1. Ink Says:

    That’s so funny! My son just asked me yesterday “how girls go potty” and I said, trying to be nondescriptive, “Well, like our dog–you know how she doesn’t stand up like you do?” He was satisfied with that answer…then later, I realized that now he probably thinks we all go outside now. Oops. Tee hee.

  2. ymK Says:

    LOL at husband’s emphatic ‘No!’

  3. ck Says:

    hahahahahahahaha!

    (He’s just looking for a little reinforcement. Can you blame him, really?)

  4. Court Says:

    Ok, here’s how blonde I am, I was seriously, like nineteen before I finally realized the pee part wasn’t actually my vagina. Public education at its finest I guess.

  5. insider53 Says:

    He is curious but you have to find a way to tell him, and you don’t pee out of your vagina. lol honestly

  6. tlc Says:

    LOL, we’re not there yet. But my little guy is so proud to “pee like daddy!” Now if he could just get his aim down I’d stop wishing he had a gina…

  7. KathyB! Says:

    The physiology of urinating will provide you with many opportunities for discussion and explanations. You’ll probably be able to pick up a Urology degree by the time all the kids are out of the house.

  8. Evenshine Says:

    Visual Aid! Visual Aid! Nice scientific pics for me. None of this pulling down the pants stuff. Very liberated of you, though. Don’t worry. By the time he’s 18 he’ll have a REALLY good idea of what goes where…

  9. sunnymom Says:

    That is hilarious!!!! I am glad I have a daughter and do not have to explain the difference of boy and girl parts yet. But I have had to start locking the door at certain times of the month. She came in once and caught me, instantly she ran to the phone before I could stand up and she called my mom at dispatch and told her to send me an ambulance because I was bleeding to death. (My mom works for 911) Luckily I finally got to the phone and stopped the calvery but of cours I had to listen to my mom laugh at me for 10 minutes.

  10. Gibby Says:

    LMAO!!!!! At least he hasn’t asked where babies come from yet. Or has he? One of our girls asked Hubby that and he suddenly was overcome with a violent coughing fit.

  11. wild4words Says:

    My favorite incident with my oldest? He walked in as I was getting out of the tub one morning – “Mom!!! Where is your penis?!!!”

    It took every molecule of my will to NOT say “OMG! Where’d it go???!!!”

    Laughed my butt off over this one, thanks!! 😀

  12. faemom Says:

    Ink~ It’s a weird feeling, trying to explain, but not trying to give too much information.
    ymK~ Nothing like feeling like a man when your son asks where your vagina is.
    ck~ No, but I can laugh.
    Court~ Don’t feel so bad; I think a lot of women learned later in life. I remember my mom explaining a tampon to me and I asked how you peed with it in. Then my mom muttered something about the cost of my private school and explained why women can pee with a tampon in.
    insider~ I’m hoping to explain that in a little while. I don’t want to confuse him.
    tlc~ I hear you. Some one suggested putting cheerios in the tiolet for aiming practice.
    KathyB~ That’s what I’m afraid of.
    Even~ I totally need visual aids, and I just realized I mistyped. I totally had pants on! So in case the authorities read this, I swear I haven’t shown my private parts to my kids . . . well, not on purpose. And I don’t even want to think about all the knowledge he will gain about anatomy before college. Or during,
    sunny~ THAT is hilarious! Totally worth a post.
    Gibby~ Not yet. It’ll happen when we get pregnant again. It’s the stork, right?
    w4w~ How funny and evil would that be?

  13. Ink Says:

    Oh, I love wild4words’s idea!

  14. faemom Says:

    Isn’t she hilarious?!

  15. breedermama Says:

    “Mommy, are you sure you don’t have a penis?” – quote from the Bear age 4.

    It takes awhile to get this stuff down. 😉

  16. faemom Says:

    LOL That is aweome!


Leave a Reply

