A Comedian is Born

Humor runs in the family.  Nothing makes my family happier then sharing a joke, making a joke, being in on a joke or becoming the butt of a joke.  Ok, maybe the last one is a stretch, but if it’s a good joke, even the butt can find it amusing or at least tolerable.  In my experience, if my dad is telling a story where I have to come out looking dumb for the joke, I just sit back and take it, knowing the more I protest the story the dumber I look.  I think the daughter does protest too much.

We weren’t surprised when Tornado E started to aspire into the family hobby.  I was more surprised at where he started.  He skipped over basic fart and burping jokes and went straight to knock-knock jokes.

Tornado E: Knock-knock.

Me: Who’s there?

Tornado E: Wormy!

Me: Wormy who?

Tornado E: Wormy has a hat! (Insert Tornado E’s manic laughter.)

If you get it, let me know.

But the uncles worked on him.

Me: Knock-knock.

Tornado E: Who’s there?

Me: Boo.

Tornado E: No, Mommy.  You have to use a word!

Uncle M: Trust us, Tornado E.

Uncle T: It’ll be funnier near the end.

Uncle M: Knock-knock.

Tornado E: Who’s there?

Uncle M: Boo!

Tornado E: NO!  Uncle M!  Use words!

Uncle T: Let’s try it again, Tornado E.  Knock-Knock . . .

After many hours of training, Tornado E made it.

Tornado E: Knock.  Knock.

Me: Who’s there?

Tornado E: Boo!

Me: Boo who?

Tornado E: (in a high pitched voice) Whyyoucrying?!  (insert Tornado E’s manic laughter.)

But the banana-orange knock-knock joke is far beyond Tornado E, but I won’t repeat the laborious hours of teaching that joke.  (WHY DO YOU KEEP SAYING BANANA?!)  I have spent all afternoons saying “whose there” and “boo who.”  We haven’t gone to anything more complicated, waiting for him to get older, smarter, more sophisticated (because that’s what you need to get a good fart joke, according to the uncles.)

Then the other day Tornado E was eating breakfast with Tornado S while I unloaded the dishwasher.

Tornado E: Mommy, what do you call a man with a coconut on his head?

Me: I don’t know.  What do you call a man with a coconut on his head?

Tornado E: PAPI!!!! (insert Tornado E’s manic laughter)

My son made is first insult joke, alluding to my dad’s bald head.  My first thought was “Wait, until I tell Papi; you’re now open game.”  My second thought was, “Welcome to the family, kid.”

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

10 Responses to “A Comedian is Born”

  1. sandysays1 Says:

    Kids Instruction Manual

    1. Love daily
    2. Feed until fat
    3. Don’t shake or stir
    4. Enjoy while young- it won’t last long

    Sandy
    Visit me at http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  2. ck Says:

    Better than the jokes at my house.

    HER: Why did the tree get on top of the other tree?

    ME: Why?

    HER: To go to the sidewalk. Funny?

    ME: …

  3. KathyB! Says:

    I’m glad to see your son will continue the family tradition! Can you imagine if you got a kid who wasn’t interested in the funny?!

  4. insider53 Says:

    I tried teaching the same jokes to my grandson but he prefers to make up his own knock knock jokes. They make no sense and he says them over and over and over and over.

  5. Ginny Says:

    My sister’s fave as a kid:

    Knock knock.

    Who’s there?

    Salad.

    Salad who?

    SALAD!!!! (insert HER maniacal laughter here)

    And now she’s one of the funniest people I know. Sounds like your kid’s a fast learner.

  6. Gibby Says:

    So cute! I love when kids tell “jokes.” And my kids cannot, just CANNOT get the banana joke either. What the heck? It’s like the first joke I ever learned!

  7. William@Freedom Debt Relief Says:

    It is really cool to see kids making up their own jokes 🙂 they would better us anytime but the truth the say might be a little bitter to take in first… but am glad the entire family loves to joke 😉

  8. faemom Says:

    sandy~ Thanks. I always wondered if I couldn’t shake them, if I could stir them.
    ck~ The best part of that joke was the “funny?”
    KathyB!~ That would be dissappionting. Sort of like having the only kid in the family that doesn’t like BBQ sauce in a BBQ family. (Sorry, Dad, I tried.)
    insider~ The best part of that is watch him tell another kid his age and they’ll laugh for five minutes straight.
    Ginny~ HA! Yeah, I wonder if I should teach him about pranking or if that would create a monster.
    Gibby~ LOL Well, maybe you and the hubs speak such perfect grammar that your daughters have never hear “ar’ncha.”
    William~ Kids do have a delightful sense of humor, if one can hang on for the punchline or doesn’t get to embarressed.

  9. Lurc Says:

    Blonde it is a not color of hairs, it is an eternal alibi!


Leave a Reply

