The Benefits of Hide-and-go-seek

When I was a teenage babysitter, I loved hide-and-go-seek.  Whenever I needed a ten minute break, I would send the kids off and then take a breather.  I would wait three rounds in, and then I would sit on the coach and rest.  When the kids sneaked out of their hiding places to find me, I would claim that they were such good hiders that I couldn’t find them.  Yes, I was a damn good babysitter.  Some of my charges STILL talk about how cool I was.

Lately I’ve really needed an extra five minutes or so to just recharge.  Maybe I’m not drinking enough water or not getting enough sleep.  Maybe Tornado E picking what days he’s going to nap is slowly driving me insane.  I could take a whole weekend, but I’m not greedy.  (Besides I’m saving for a November girls-only get away.)

Trying to figure out what to do with the boys as they tear into another boxes of toys, looking around at all the mail and paperwork that needs to be gone through and filed, then I said “Let’s play-hide-and-go-seek.”  The boys took off, and I counted to twenty, slow and loud.  It was then when I realized this was the best game ever.

First, I’m teaching the boys to count.  I’m assuming that by the end of the summer, both boys will know their numbers to twenty without missing one.  This is also a great opportunity to learn all their hiding places if they ever want to use one when I need them.

Second, do you know how much you can get done in thirty seconds?  Quite a bit when you add it up.  Not a lot, but enough.  I got through half the stack of mail.  I even filed some things.

Third, you can also have some rest-time hiding.  If I hide on the top bunk, they never find me.  I can take a nice five-minute cat nap, and no one is the wiser.  I love that bed.

Granted, Tornado S thinks being on his bed is hiding, and the minute I walk in the room he roars at me. Tornado E can’t stop giggling. Tornado S can’t hide with me because he gives away our hiding position.  But Tornado E does not seek very well, so I still end up the winner.

When they get a little bit older, I’ll send them off hiding while I read a magazine article with the house quiet and children unseen.  Man, I love this game.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

9 Responses to “The Benefits of Hide-and-go-seek”

  1. Bisovi Says:

    You were right, you have teached pretty nice. That was wonderful moment

  2. KathyB! Says:

    I always knew you were brilliant. My dad used to do this to us growing up. He’s pretty smart, too!

  3. joz1234 Says:

    My husband uses this tactic with the boys. They love it…and he loves the catnap

  4. Freedom Debt Relief Says:

    Haha cool idea to take a catnap 🙂 without spoiling the moods of our kids.

  5. Ink Says:

    Fae, you’re so good at finding the mom needs a moment loophole! Woohoo!

  6. faemom Says:

    KathyB!~ Have you not used your dad’s tricks?
    joz~ I hope you’re using it too.
    DRR~ I try.
    Ink~ I’m working on more.

  7. insider53 Says:

    I did this too. I am so glad you play with your kids even if you have an ulterior motive. There is so little time for play these days and I feel bad for young parents who don’t understand the importance of play.

  8. NATUI Says:

    I used to love babysitting kids who couldn’t tell time. If they were wearing me out, I’d put them to bed up to an hour earlier than usual just to get them out of my hair. Isn’t that awful?

  9. faemom Says:

    insider~ That is sad. I love playing with the boys. I used to chase Evan around the dining room table for like an hour when he was just toddling. He loved that.
    NATUI~ Actually I knew a mom who would turn all the house clocks an hour forward to get away with that trick 😉


Leave a Reply

