Inquisitive Minds Want to Know

(WTF!  Why didn’t this post?)

I’m trying to appreciate a child’s inquisitive mind.  In general, I always adored people with questions.  How else is one going to learn?  And I always hated teachers who didn’t like questions.  Lucky for me, I had only a few of those, and all of them before college.

In high school, I used to visit my swim coach and chemistry teacher all the time with random questions.  Why do we have eyebrows?  How does pain medication know where you’re hurt?  Why does wet rock turn a different color?  Why are there so many varieties of hair, skin, and eye color if genetics is so simple?  Why do we have toes?  Really, you think I believe that answer?

Mr. Roth was a trooper.

Now I have my own questioners.  Why is that lizard gray?  Why do I have a penis?  Well, why do boys have penises?  Is a shrimp a fish?  Why is it called a killer whale?  Why does Papi have a big tummy?  Why do I have to go to bed?  Why?  Why?  Why?

I am trying to be a trooper.

Now I’m wondering how parents handled these questions without the internet.  But because I’m trying to encourage the questions and reading, I look up the answers.  (Shrimp, by the way, are basically giant water bugs.  Tasty giant water bugs.)  When we go to storytime, I ask Tornado E what he wants to learn about now.

It’s how we found a book on snow leopards.  We learned that pirates had strict rules, democracy on board, and an eight o’clock bedtime.  We learned all about pirates, knights, and dragons.  We’ve read books about pirates, cowboys, and ninjas.  The boys are fascinated with books.

Now I’ll admit it gets exhausting to answer all the questions.  Especially the questions that are meant to be stalling tactics.  Sometimes they keep asking even though I don’t know the answer.  Sometimes I don’t want to answer, but I remember the times I was ignored as a child and I keep answering.  I’ll keep answering the same question on why we have to nap, why do we have to eat green beans, why can’t we swim when it’s lightening, why do we have a grey car.  Why?  Why?  Why?

The other day we were searching for supplies to decorate shirts (because we just don’t have enough pirate, knight, and Tiki god clothing in our house).  As we were leaving, we went down an aisle with stamps and ink pads.  I stopped remembering Tornado E’s obsession with my stamp collection and how I keep putting off using them because I don’t have any ink pads. (Well, at least, I haven’t Looked for any ink pads.)  I pulled an ink pad off the shelf and showed it to Tornado E, explaining what it was and how it was used, thinking in the back of my head that I’m going to regret this when he finds the ink pads before I do.

As we were heading to the cashier, an older woman stopped me.  “Excuse me.  I don’t usually stop parents like this.”  Either a) She’s going to tell me my kids are super cute or b) One of them has pocketed something.  “I’m an ex-elementary school teacher, and what you said to your son back there almost made me cry.  So few parents take the time to explain things to their kids.  You’re doing a wonderful job.”  She patted me on the arm and left.

I looked over at the boys, who smiled back at me.  Apparently I’m the only one who can see the little horns popping up from under their hair.

Fine.  You win.  Now what were you asking?

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

10 Responses to “Inquisitive Minds Want to Know”

  1. Evenshine Says:

    Yes. You ARE the only one to see the horns. You and his first-grade teacher.

  2. beth aka confusedhomemaker Says:

    Oh the whys can make you want to pull your hair out some days (by some I mean most).

  3. Christina Baglivi Tinglof Says:

    Great post! Sometimes I get so frustrated with all the questions (especially now that they’re getting older and deal more with “authority” like “why can’t we….?” I say what MY mother used to say, “because I said so!” Bad, I know.

  4. Ink Says:

    Sometimes I want to put cotton balls in my ears. Just for a few minutes…

    Fae, I’m not moving to Blogger after all. So hopefully you will not be mad at me anymore. 🙂

  5. Gibby Says:

    OH, the questions!! They drive me nuts! Thank God for Google. And the library. And a bottle of wine.

    But how nice of that lady to stop and tell you that. We need that kind of encouragement. At least, I do. And yes, you ARE a great mom.

  6. parenting BY dummies Says:

    My boys don’t seem to be very big on asking me questions (guess they know about the dumb mom thing, too), but they bombard their genius-smart-super-hero of a dad with them. Hope they do the same thing when it comes to awkward sex related questions, not sure I know even half of what to say on that topic:)

  7. faemom Says:

    Evenshine~ It’s just amazing how those horns can hide.
    beth~ If it was one or two why’s, it’s tolerable. It’s the two hours of why’s that makes you want to slam your head into the wall.
    Christina~ Sadly, I have already used those words too. They’re such a great answer. Too bad the kids don’t think so.
    Ink~ Cottonballs. Excellent suggestion! I was not mad; I was exasperated. I hope we hear the reasons why in an oh-so-cool-Ink rant. Gibby~ You’re so sweet. It’s funny how they ask questions, we have never asked. Well, of course a shrimp isn’t a fish; it’s uh . . . uh. . . .
    pBd~ Ooo, the go-ask-your-father approach. Nice.

  8. KathyB! Says:

    I find that putting my hands over my ears and shrieking, “LALALALALALA” works really well. I recommend you try it!

  9. insider53 Says:

    It;s because she doesn’t know you play hide and seek with an agenda. lol. FYI: A shrimp is a crustacean.

  10. ck Says:

    You are a wonderful mom, Fae, which is why if you answer your doorbell you’ll find my kids (and their suitcases) on your doorstep. You said you wanted girls, right?


Leave a Reply

