Mommy’s Time Out

My husband did well.  He bought me a box of Godiva chocolate.  He knows my love of chocolate runs deep. 

I had to put them in the fridge to keep them from melting.  I’m cheaply green, keeping the house at a cool 80.

Yesterday I needed chocolate.

I NEEDED chocolate.

With the temper tantrums, the fighting, the hitting, the refusing to eat the pancakes that were asked for, the dumping of Legos, train tracks, and poles, I needed to run away as far and as fast as I could.

Today the box of chocolates remains unopened, sealed in the plastic wrapping, waiting.

Yesterday I needed my own time out.  A few stolen minutes to center, to be me, to let my guard down.

My husband laughed when I stormed out of the kitchen mumbling, “Kiss you’re eldest goodbye.  This is his last minute on earth.”

I wasn’t kidding.

Before I did something rash, I demanded he pick up the toys.  I grabbed one of the king size Hershey bar with Almonds and raced to my room, slamming the door, throwing myself on the bed.

Godiva is for savoring, enjoying, escaping.  It is an experience.  It begs to be taken slowly, covering your mouth with rich flavors.  Your eyes have to shut as you celebrate the chocolate.  You just can’t wash out the aftertaste right away; you have to relish even that.  It is heaven.

But I needed my first love.  Someone who understands me, who won’t mind a secretive quicky in the back, not needing to cuddle.  Someone who knows just how I like it, so the deed is done pleasantly fast; while I still have time to wash up and leave, entering the world like nothing happened.

I reveled in the cheap chocolaty goodness. 

I centered myself.  I washed my face and hands, disposing of the wrapped in the bathroom garbage with a lid.  I re-entered the world.

Once I was calm and happy.  It was a lot easier to get everyone to clean the mess, eat their lunch and to their naps.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

12 Responses to “Mommy’s Time Out”

  1. insider53 Says:

    Ahhhhh!! the goodness of chocolate. I always have a Hershey bar in my fridge. I am a diabetic and I sometimes get low blood glucose levels. A little Hershey and everything is okay. The only problem is I can’t have it otherwise. I love chocolate, I miss it so.

  2. KathyB! Says:

    I was wondering if you each took one of those king-sized bars from yesterday’s posts… or if you stole them away for yourself. Now we know 🙂

  3. Kay Says:

    I honestly prefer the good ol’ Hershey’s to the expensive stuff. Give me a solid bar of chocolate or a bag of kisses, and I’m your slave… until I run out.

  4. zeemaid Says:

    yeah I prefer hershey’s to expensive stuff too… you don’t feel guilty gobbling it up so quick. Like you say.. Godiva is for savouring.

    You sound like you are doing really well with this whole phase thing… yeah you might get frustrated but your taking a mommy time out is a good idea. I don’t think we do that enough as mothers… we just keep getting frustrated and you’re right.. it’s a phase. I feel like every 6 months we enter into a new phase. 🙂 Keep up the good work!

  5. zeemaid Says:

    phew.. I just realized why I keep missing your posts is because I don’t have you in my blogroll list. You’ve been added….. 🙂

  6. joz1234 Says:

    Now I need to go out and try a Godiva chocolate! Your description was all it took.

  7. Ink Says:

    Sounds like a delicious escape…better than Calgon!

  8. Country-Fried Mama Says:

    I’m partial to Twix bars myself. The caramel, the cookie…yum!

  9. zeemaid Says:

    I just read your comment on my purging post. I usually respond to my comments via gmail. Only I just realized that some of my responses go to this generic insiderg53 email and I was wondering if that meant it was going to la la land or if actually people from wordpress etc… got it… So did you get an email from me? Thanks.

  10. Gibby Says:

    Ahhhhh, it’s like we are chocolate soul-mates!!!!! I totally, 100% get this post.

  11. faemom Says:

    insider53~ I don’t what I would do without chocolate. That’s so awful.
    KathyB!~ I also split one with the boys.
    Kay~ Do you do windows? Because I’m sure I hqave a bag of kisses somewhere.
    zeemaid~ First off, this is only facade. I’m really less in stride in real life. Two, YEA! I made the blogroll!
    joz~ I was like um, it’s chocolate, and then one Valentine’s my husband sent me a case. I was hooked.
    Ink~ I highly recommend it.
    CFM~ Mmmm, Twix. I find each candy bar is made for different needs. Snickers= low blood sugar. 3 Musketeers= Less guilt. And so on.
    Zeemaid~ La la land. I should actually email you then, eh?
    Gibby~ We so are!

  12. ck Says:

    Mmmmm…cheap chocolaty goodness washed down by the carbonated caffeine of a coke and I too would be able to face them again. But not a moment before…


Leave a Reply

