Stupid Computer Magic

When my husband gave me a refurbished laptop for Valentine’s Day, I was upset over what he spent because we were suppose to be saving and I cooked him a turkey meal.  But soon that laptop won me over as I could customize the background, keep my desktop clean, write when he worked, and even enjoyed working in the dining room instead of the hot office.  I loved that computer.

Then it gave me a blue screen telling me that I installed some hardware wrong, but I hadn’t installed any hard ware.  Then last night it made some sort of knocking noise as it sat idle on the dining room table, waiting for me to return.  I tried to shut it down but ended up shutting it down by the off button because it wouldn’t listen to me.  Today it told me a file was corrupted and refused to move on to opening up any programs.

I’m depressed.  I’m angry.  I only had this computer for six months.  I had been meaning to copy the files.  I never did.  I needed to return to my craft blog this weekend, but now I can’t.

Yeah, I’m pissed. 

I’m so pissed that this is all the post I’m writing.  I’m turning to reading to cheer me up.

Oh, and Mom Blog Network.  You’re on notice.  You better start posting people’s posts, so I can vote for them again.

Congress, you’re on notice too.  Stop playing politics and fix stuff.  We know you can do it.  It’s what we pay you to do.

Pundits, you’re on my sh*t list.  Stop scaring everyone with stupid misinformation.  Obama’s an American.  They’re not setting up death councils.  There are too many real subjects to argue and debate about.  Try that.

Computer dude that built my computer, you better fix it for free. It’s been less than six months.

Computer fairies, please fix my laptop.  I’ll leave you cookies.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

14 Responses to “Stupid Computer Magic”

  1. ck Says:

    That SUCKS! I’m so sorry about your computer. I am glad, however, that I’m not the only one having issues with MBN. I wonder if they’re about to launch something new…

  2. parenting BY dummies Says:

    I hate computers (except for mine, in case you are listening while I type, who is purdy, and smart, and so good to me)/ I also hate pundits, politics, and customer service representatives. I hope things get worked out over there, otherwise you will have to go to Bandslam to watch the New Moon trailer:)

  3. Country-Fried Mama Says:

    Oh, good luck with the computer. My laptop has a crack in it, and husband wants to send it off to be fixed. I won’t let him; I couldn’t get through one day without it.

    I’d love to know the deal with MBN, too. I’m not sure why I keep their button on my blog when they take three weeks to put up my posts. Grr.

  4. KathyB! Says:

    MBN is all sorts of screwy lately. Hopefully they get it fixed!

    I’m really sorry about that laptop issue. I lost a lot of pictures last year when a similar thing happened. Of course it wasn’t backed up… Get one of those external hard drives that backs up on it’s own every time something is saved. It’sworth it!!

  5. beth aka confusedhomemaker Says:

    Oh that’s bad, the Blue Screen of Death (as my IT Hubby calls it) is so not a good sign. Finger crossed that it can be recovered.

  6. Gibby Says:

    I am just like you…if any of my technology is not working, I get very, very crabby. Very. Mostly because I have no idea how to fix it myself.

  7. insider53 Says:

    I am sorry about the computer I know how that feels. The cookie remark made me laugh.

  8. ymK Says:

    I have lost lots and lots of pictures on broken laptops too, so I feel your pain. Technology sucks.

  9. faemom Says:

    ck~ I’ve already started bothering MBN about this. They’ve got a week before I start sending a complaint every day and another before it’s several a day.
    pBd~ Ah, New Moon trailer. That would make EVERYTHING better.
    CFM~ I know! I don’t want to know how long it’ll take to fix it. Oh and totally complain to MBN.
    KathyB!~ External hard drive. Gotcha. You’d think I would know this after losing god-only-knows-how-many papers in college.
    beth~ I immediately assumed it was the Blue Screen of Death, but it was totally different instructions. Maybe there is more then one Screen.
    Gibby~ I can’t fix any technology. Hence the belief that it is magic.
    insider~ 🙂 It’s my job to make you laugh,
    ymK~ I have to agree with you and Lewis Black, who says technology only makes our lives worse.

  10. joz1234 Says:

    I hope your computer starts working for you.

  11. Kyle Says:

    The error you are recieving on you computer is known as a BSOD or a Blue Screen of Death. It can b caused by many different things, from bad hardware … Ram, Hard Drive, Motherboard, etc, to a software issue such as a bad Windows Update Download, device driver conflicts etc.

    Depending on the software that came with the computer will determine what you may need to do. If you have your Operating System (or OS) disks, and it is XP, you may be able to run a repair. This may fix the issue if it is a software problem. If you are running Vista or have no Operating system disks, you may have what is called a Restore Disk which will return your system to factory fresh condition. You may also have a part of your hard drive that contains your OS on it which will allow you to restore it to factory fresh with out disks. The problem with this is that you will lose all of your data. IF you do not want to loose your data and have not backed it up recently, or IF you do not have any disks you may need to take it into a Repair shop to have it fixed. This will probably cost you in the neighbour hood of 150 – 200 dollars. If it is a hardware issue you will have to take it in to a shop. IF it is your hard drive, that can be pricey, you will need to pay the above amount plus the hard drive installation and purchase. IF it is ram, that is a pretty inexpensive fix. IF it is the motherboard, You will have to get your Husband to buy you a new Laptop, fortunatly Back to School sales will be on soon.

    Best of Luck

    Kyle Corey
    A+ certified Computer Technician
    a-techs-life.blogspot.com

  12. faemom Says:

    Thanks, Kyle. That was very helpful. I’m hoping that the guy we sold it to will fix it for free since it happened under six months. But we shall see.

  13. Kyle Says:

    Be sure to push it if the hardware is less then 6 months old. Most hardware items have a year manufacturers warranty on them.

    –KC

  14. faemom Says:

    Thanks again, Kyle.


Leave a Reply

