Goodbye, Naptime

“Does he still nap?” asked the doctor about Evan.

Yes.

“That’s great!” she said with surprise dripping off her voice.

Great.

 

Until this week.

I knew the end was coming.

I read other blogs, talked to other moms.  He was missing a nap or two a week.  I could only get him into the afternoon pre-kindergarten, which starts on the 23rd.  I knew the end was coming.

Supposedly he’ll go to bed earlier now that he doesn’t nap.  But that risks a return to the 5am wake up calls.  I will not risk THAT again.

What of my blog time?  I write and read mainly during naptime.  I NEED that time to regroup.  Sure, I read at night too, but I have to share the night with laundry, chores, The Daily Show, True Blood, maybe a book here and there.  Oh, right, and The Husband when he’s in town and not working.  I guess it would be nice to flirt a little bit before I demand he do his husbandly duty.

I should be more prepared.  I should have bought books for this stage.  I should have checked out books.  I thought I could handle everything.  I need that naptime back.  Preferably until he’s in an all day school and then every weekend until he moves away to college.

 

Ok.  I can handle this. 

We need rules.

1)    You have to be quiet.  If you wake up fyour brother, you’re going into time out.

2)    You can’t be cranky.  If you get cranky, you’re taking a nap.

3)    Don’t bother Mommy when she’s working.  She needs this time.  I will lock you in a closet if you bother me.  Or use duct tape like your Papi did on me.

 

Three simple rules.  That’ll fix it.

 

Stop laughing.  I need this.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

10 Responses to “Goodbye, Naptime”

  1. parenting BY dummies Says:

    How old is he again? #2 still naps. He goes to bed later, but I really can’t say I care. Mid day nap (while daddy is at work so unable to pester me) are essential to daily life. And, no way in h-e-double hockey sticks am I dealing with a energetic preschool before I say good morning to the sun. So, naps are still on. I told him he didn’t have to nap, that he could play quietly in his room. But, that just translates into naps on the floor, naps under the bed, or naps shoved haphazardly in a corner with a sword and shield in hand. Don’t care how we get ’em, as long as they come!

    And, outer space and it’s vast unknown creeps me out. As do those secret nonsense word identifier things people have on their blogs. Clear as mud now, right?!

  2. insider53 Says:

    Oh Fae (sigh) you can do it. Record true blood and then watch it after he goes to bed, while folding the laundry and flirting with your husband at the same time. Multitask. That reminds me of the fifth element “leilu dallas multipass” I don’t know why that tickles me but it does. Boy I am in a weird mood today.

  3. joz1234 Says:

    I like the way insider53 thinks…only convince the husband he will get his flirts after HE does the laundry folding while you watch True Blood. 😀

    My oldest stopped taking naps this week and I have allowed him to not do a rest time. My rules?
    1) If I take a nap, do not bother me.
    2) I get alone time, do not bother me.
    3) Don’t wake up little brother.
    4) If you get cranky in the evening, you get to take a nap the next day.

    So far, so good. It’s almost like rest time moved out into the living room.

    Good luck!

  4. Ink Says:

    Good rules! They could work! And if they do, please tell us because no one around here wants to take a nap any more either, even though they need one…

    Insider, that’s my favorite line from Fifth Element, too. Don’t know why…just the way she says Multipass or something.

  5. Court Says:

    My sister did that, she called it quiet time and told her boys it was going to happen. I shudder to think, mainly because she’s such an unbearable grouch if she’s sleepy right now.

  6. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    I actually cried when Miss M. gave up naps. I sooooo needed that nap. And dealing with the DemonChild she became from 4pm until bedtime wasn’t pretty, either.

    Sending you a glass of wine. You need it.

  7. KathyB! Says:

    Duct tape? Faemom, where were you when my kids were younger. I never thought of that one…

  8. faemom Says:

    pBd~ You’re hilarious! Evan is four. We’re starting quiet time, which isn’t a nap at all. I hope #2 naps for a long long time.
    insider~ Multitask. Got it. But not during True Blood because the husband hates vampire stuff. So it’ll be during the Daily Show.
    joz~ I like your rules. Simple and clear.
    Ink~ Friday and Saturday, it worked out. Sunday, he should’ve had a nap because of the horrible night before, but I didn’t force it and paid the price.
    Court~ It’s a dreary prospect, I assure you.
    TKW~ *salutes with glass* Hmm, that sounds strangely like my evening yesterday, though I did have grandparent back-up.
    KathyB!~ Thank my Dad. I still remember the naptime he made the threat a reality.

  9. ck Says:

    My daughter quit naps when she turned 4. It was pretty rough at first, but she did go to bed earlier and didn’t wake up before the regular time. And if she can make that happen, it will be a BREEZE for Evan!

  10. faemom Says:

    RFLOL We shall see. He fell asleep on the couch right after dinner last night. The night before a deamon took over his body.


Leave a Reply

