First steps

Yesterday Tornado E went to school for the first time.  He actually coordinated his outfit with a blue football shirt and a blue shorts.  I made him wear tennis shoes, instead of the boots, which need to be retired soon.  He carried his new Transformers backpack on his back.

Tornado S couldn’t go on without his own backpack, so he had a small Kung Fu Panda backpack.  He walked next to Tornado E.

Even with The Husband in tow, we arrived early, and I snapped pictures.

The children lined up to enter the room.  Tornado E found himself in the middle of the line.  One by one the kids entered the class as the teacher greeted them by name.  Tornado E allowed two kids to have cuts as he came near the door.  He stopped at the door.

Teacher: Hi, Tornado E.  How are you?

Tornado E: I’m a little scared.

My eyes welled with tears, which I kept in check because I knew if I cried Tornado S would too.

Teacher: That’s ok.  Everything will be just fine.  Come on in.

Tornado E took his first steps in without looking back.  The teacher’s assistant helped him off with his backpack and sent him to play.

I stood there not knowing when to leave or what to do now.  But a couple of minutes went by, and I didn’t hear a cry for Tornado E.  I called Tornado S, and we went home.  My first child is in pre-kindergarten.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

16 Responses to “First steps”

  1. theycallmejane Says:

    Oh, that is too precious. And what a wonderful mom you are that he can be so in touch with his feelings, so unafraid to express them. Good job mom!

  2. insider53 Says:

    Isn’t there this awful silence as you stand there. He is gone and you just can’t walk away, and then you do. I remember it well. I wish I could see the pictures.

  3. rakster Says:

    Scared. He sounds like he’s happy to talk about his emotions – that’s great!

    I imagine you were / are a bit scared too.

  4. Gibby Says:

    OMG, my eyes welled up at “I’m a little scared.” How sweet and honest! Oh, first days. They are killers.

  5. Zeemaid Says:

    I Just teared up too. I remember those precious moments last year when E started k.

    Now I’m just looking forward to full days. *L*

  6. Freedom Debt Relief Says:

    That is so sweet 🙂 am sure Evan would be fine. Really precious Snap that one will be.

  7. KathyB! Says:

    I HATE school. These first days just rip my heart out. I think I could plod forward in complete denial of time were it not for first days and birthdays. I’m thinking both should be banned.

  8. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    Sniffling here. Oh, that sweet boy. How brave is he to admit how he’s feeling. I hope he got a big hug from Momma after school. And I hope Momma got a hug, too, from someone.

  9. ck Says:

    Sounds like Phase 2 of Operation Womb is about to kick into high gear…

  10. joz1234 Says:

    So sweet. Mine started Kindergarten and my 2 year old will start Parent’s day out twice a week in a couple weeks. The baby will be harder to let go, but he is so excited.

    My oldest is liking his new class. That makes it all okay.

  11. faemom Says:

    jane~ Thanks. I’m not sure what I did.
    insider~ I had Sean to fill the void.
    rakster~ Yes, I was a bit scared too.
    Gibby~ Like a dagger through my heart.
    Zeemaid~ I’m sure once school really gets going I’ll enjoy the free time.
    FDR~ He did do fine. Or at least that’s what I assume, since I can’t get him to tell me what happened at school.
    KathyB!~ My mom says she never feels old until she realizes how old her kids are.
    TKW~ I did give him a big hug, not that he wanted it or needed it by that time.
    ck~ HA! You have no idea.

  12. onthenightyouwereborn Says:

    Oh my gosh, this made me cry! It must have been so hard!

  13. faemom Says:

    I think it would have been harder if I hadn’t had Sean. He took it much harder than I did.

  14. Ink Says:

    Sooooooooooo sweet, Fae! Awww.

  15. Kids Football Shirt Says:

    How brave is he to admit how he’s feeling. I hope he got a big hug from Momma after school. And I hope Momma got a hug, too, from someone.

  16. faemom Says:

    Just my mom. She understood.


Leave a Reply

