Leaking Out the News the First Time.

When I first came out of the bathroom when I was pregnant with Tornado E, I kept my head bowed.  I dragged my feet.  I walked slowly into the family room, where The Husband watched TV, waiting for the news.  He jumped up and hugged me.

The Husband: I’m sorry, sweetheart.  We’ll try harder next time.

Me: We don’t have to.  I’m pregnant.

I smiled at him.  It took half a second to sink in.

The Husband: You’re pregnant!  That’s great.  (We hugged again.  We kissed.)  Call your mom.

I grabbed the phone and dialed.

My Dad: (sounding groggy) Hello?

Me: Dad?  Is Mom there?

My Dad: No, she’s out with her friends.

Me: Really?  She’s out on a Friday night.  After you had surgery yesterday?  How are you doing, Dad?

My Dad: I’m ok.  These pain pills work wonders.  Whacha need, Fae?

Me: Oh, nothing.  It’s just that I’m pregnant.

My Dad: (pause) Is this a good thing?

Me: Yes.

My Dad: Well, then I’m happy for you.

Me: Thanks, Dad.  Dad?

My Dad: Yes?

Me: Get some rest.  You sound like you need it.

My Dad: Ok.  I love you.

Me: I love you too.  Goodnight.

My Dad: Good night.

I hung up the phone and turned to The Husband.

The Husband: There was a lot less screaming than I imagined.

Me: My mom is out with The Council of Women.  She left my dad alone.  He’s still out of it from surgery.

The Husband: Huh.  Well, it’s still early.  You want to go see a movie?

Me: No, I have to open tomorrow.  Let’s just watch TV.

An hour later the phone rang.

Me: Hello?

My Mom: Your dad said you needed to tell me something.

Me: You left Dad alone after his surgery?

My Mom: It was Friend’s birthday!  We’ve been planning this for months.  Besides your father was just fine when left him.  He said it was fine if I went.

Me: Fine, Mom.  I’m just surprised.

My Mom: Is that what you wanted to tell me?  To scold me for leaving your father helpless?

Me: No.  I wanted to tell you I’m pregnant.

My Mom: You’re pregnant!  I knew it!  That’s wonderful, baby!  Congratulations!

Me: You, too, Grandma.

My Mom: I’m going to be a Grandma!

Me: Yes.  Mom?  It’s late.  I have to be at work at 6 tomorrow.

My Mom: Oh.  Right.  Well, call me tomorrow when you get off.

Me: Fine, Mom.  I love you

My Mom: I love you. Good night, dear.

Me: Good night.

***

The phone rang just as I peeled out of my work clothes.  Working for the benefits.  Working for the benefits.

Me: Hello?

My Dad: Your mother told me I have to apologize.

Me: For what?

My Dad: For not being enthusiastic enough last night.

Me: Oh.  Well, you did better than The Husband’s Dad.  His first words were “Oh no.”

My Dad: (Laughter) I’m happy for you, baby.  I really am.  If you’re happy, than I am.

Me: Well, as soon as I stop feeling to nauseas, I’ll be happier.

My Dad: Then I’ll be happier then too.

Me: Thanks, Dad.  Um, should I talk to Mom now so that you don’t get yelled out for hanging up before she talks to me?

My Dad: Yup.

***

That weekend I made The Husband promise not to tell anyone until we know for sure that we were pregnant.  He ended up telling J and his girlfriend D, who happened to work for a great OB/GYN.  She insisted I call on Monday to get an appointment, promising me that she would get me in.

Monday I called.

Front office: Hello?  Dr’s office.

Me: Um, hi.  I need to make an um appointment.

Front office:  Oh?  And what can I do for you?

Me: Uh, I think I’m uh pregnant.

Front Office: Ok.  Well, why don’t you find out for sure and call us back for an appointment?  Ok?

Me: Um, ok.  Thank you.

Click.

Hmmm.  That went less well than expected.

The phone rang.

Me: Hello?

D: Faemom.  (sigh) You’re pregnant if you have a positive on a pregnancy test.

Me: Oh?  They’re that accurate.

D: (sigh) Yes.  I’m transferring you back to the Front Office.  Tell them you got a positive on your pregnancy test.  They’ll take care of it all.

Me: Oh.

And as for that promise.  By the end of the week, everyone knew.  EVERYONE.  To this day, I’m sure The Husband put a billboard up on one of the major freeways in Orange County.  The best part was the hurt and nagging that came from friends who heard it from their husbands.  Thanks, The Husband.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

12 Responses to “Leaking Out the News the First Time.”

  1. Country-Fried Mama Says:

    I did such a terrible job sharing news of pregnancy with my husband. Both times, I think, he was really disappointed to not have try harder. The man was really, really ready to try. And try. And try. Turns out, though, we are quite a fertile pair. Either that, or we have excellent luck. If there’s ever a number three, I will have to put quite a bit of thought into how I share that news.

  2. bluecottonmemory Says:

    With the first one, I had such severe stomach pains that I went to the hospital. They thought I was having a tubal pregnancy. I didn’t. Everyone was out of town, so we didn’t tell people for quite a while. Throwing up all the time? No questions. However, the Sunday my mom, aunt, and grandmother came to visit, was cooking a turkey, but just had to make a bowl of spghetti or die had them staring me down pretty good!

  3. zeemaid Says:

    People are funny aren’t they. You never quite get the reaction you’re looking for. I’d been trying for 2 years and when we told my mom she said did the dr confirm it? No, but I took like 7 tests and they are all positive. Mom: well we’ll wait and see what the dr says. OMG. The next one I waited until after I had seen the dr to tell her. *L*

  4. ymK Says:

    That first phone call to the OB/GYN is so uncomfortable. I kept saying, ‘I think I’, uhh pregnant’ too, to everyone.

  5. insider53 Says:

    I wish you so much joy in this pregnancy fae. I can’t wait to hear Evan and the baby in mommy’s tummy stories.

  6. KathyB! Says:

    Hooray! Hooray!!

    I had a feeling you’d be preggo soon!

    I left town for a few days and I come back to this 🙂

    CONGRATS!CONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATSCONGRATS….

    That almost sums it up 🙂

  7. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    That is a hilarious story about your drug-addled dad! I love it!

    And I was a blathering idiot on the phone with the OB my first time too…I couldn’t stop saying, “I just don’t see how this can be possible so soon…” UMMMM, I’m pretty sure EVERYONE knows how that can be possible!! God, I’m a dork.

  8. theycallmejane Says:

    The part where your mom “made” your dad call to apologize is classic! I love it!

  9. Gibby Says:

    My parents guessed the first time I said “Guess what?” Kind of took the fun out of it! My FIL just said, “Oh. Cool.” Too funny!

  10. faemom Says:

    CFM~ We’re the same way. But it’s all The Husband’s fault for lack of trying. I really think he thinks it’s a one time deal.
    bcm~ How scary about the hospital trip. My second made me throw up all the time. Nothing like noodles and potatoes.
    zeemaid~ Moms!
    ymK~ We walk on pins and needles worried we jinx the whole thing.
    insider~ I just got to get past the first trimester which takes FOREVER!
    KathyB!~ Ha. Glad you’re back. I missed you.
    TKW~ I couldn’t believe how quickly it took either. It only happens to stupid teens that way.
    jane~ I know. She’s pretty hilarious.
    Giby~ They guessed! Well, that takes the fun out of it.

  11. The Violinist Says:

    you know your husband should have put up billboards… then i might have known before you got out of the truck hugely pregnant with #2 and said “i have one in the truck too!”

  12. faemom Says:

    That’s what happens when you lose touch. You’re half responsible for that.


Leave a Reply

