The Telling of Tornado S

I couldn’t believe it.  I just couldn’t believe it.  How could we have gotten pregnant this month?  We did it one time, and I was so sure it was after the ovulation.  It was- Crap, The Husband is going to be so upset.  If I’m pregnant now, then the baby will be due in- Oh, Tornado E won’t even be two yet.  Not even near potty trained.  Maybe he’ll be sleeping through the night by then.  Ha.

I walked down the stairs to find The Husband and Tornado E playing with blocks.

The Husband: Well?

Me: Yes.

The Husband jumped up and kissed me.

The Husband: Wait here!

He ran out of the room.  He came back with his hands behind his back.

The Husband: I had a feeling you were, so I got you this.

He pulled out a jewelry box.  Opening it, I found a necklace with a six sapphires circling a diamond, making the shape of a flower.  The Husband beamed.

The Husband: It’s real.  Not fake.

I rolled my eyes.  Like I cared.

Me: Thank you.  It’s just hard to imagine we’re pregnant already.

The Husband: You know me and my super sperm.

I rolled my eyes again.

The Husband: So when did it happen?

Me: At my parents’ house.

The Husband: (all smirk off his face) WHAT?!  Your mom is going to figure that out, and your dad is going to KILL me.

Me: We’re married, you know.

The Husband: If they figure it out, you have to tell them the truth.  You have to tell them it was all your idea.  I had nothing to do with it.

Me: You had a little to do with it.

The Husband: It was all your idea.

Me: Yes, it was.

The Husband: (handing me the phone) You should call your mom.

Me: Thank you.  Should I tell her it was all my idea.

The Husband: Not until she asks.

Me: Ha.

I dialed.

My Dad: Hello?

Me: Hi, Dad!  How are you?

My Dad: Pretty good.  How are you?

Me: I’m fine.

My Dad: Just fine?

Me: It’s been a rough morning.  Hey. Is Mom there?

My Dad: No, she’s out with a friend.

Me: WHAT? Again!

My Dad: What did you need, sweetheart?

Me: Nothin’.  I’m just pregnant again.

My Dad: So soon?

From the back ground, The Friendly Giant: What? Is she knocked up again?

Me: Tell him I prefer the term preggers.

My Dad: (aside) Your sister is a little annoyed with you.  So congratulations.

Me: You starting on the right foot this time, Dad?

My Dad: I don’t want your mom to yell at me again.

Me: Ha.

My Dad: So I’ll have her call you when she gets in.

Me: You don’t want to tell her?

My Dad: Good Lord, no.

Me: Ok, Dad.  I love you.

My Dad: I love you too.  Bye.

Me: Bye.

An hour later the phone rang.

Me: Hello?

My Mom: Your dad said you had to talk to me.  What’s wrong?

Me: Nothing.  I’m pregnant.

My Mom: That’s great!  That’s wonderful.  How did The Husband take it?

Me: He’s fine.  I’m sure by the end of the day every one will know.  He’s on the phone now.

My Mom: No waiting to tell this time?

Me: Nope.  Wild horses couldn’t keep that man’s mouth shut.  But I got to go Mom.  I got to get Tornado E fed and into bed.

My Mom: I’m so happy for you.  Call me later.  I love you.

Me: I love you too.  Bye, Mom.

My Mom: Bye.

Fifteen minutes later the phone rings.

Me: Hello?

The Friendly Giant: Hey, Fae.  Mom says I have to apologize to you.

Me: For what?

The Friendly Giant: I’m sorry for saying you were knocked up.  It’s not a nice term to call someone when they’re pregnant.

Me: Um, thanks?  I wasn’t offended.

The Friendly Giant: I know.  But Mom was.  I got to go.  Congrats, Fae.

Me: Thanks.  Bye.

The Friendly Giant: Bye.

***

Just so you know.  The call to the doctor’s that next Monday.

Front Office: Doctor’s Office.

Me: Hi.  I just got a positive on a pregnancy test so I need to schedule an appointment.

Front Office: No problem.  Name?

Me: Fae Mom.

Front Office: When was the first day of your last period?

Me: Um, Uh, I think it was date.  (Forgive me because I still can’t remember.)

Front Office: Fae, you always wait so long to call!

What? I have long cycles!

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

11 Responses to “The Telling of Tornado S”

  1. ymK Says:

    Doing it at the parent’s house? Nice! Reading your story, I can so relate. We also planned the first one, and the second one was a shock. I could not believe I was pregnant even after I was five months and showing a little. Ha!

  2. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    I love your interactions with your family via phone. They sound eerily similar to the circus that belongs to me.

  3. KathyB! Says:

    I love that you did it at the parent’s house 🙂

    Good job, Faedad!!

  4. theycallmejane Says:

    The gift from your husband and his excitement and the switch to his panic when he realizes when you conceived? Precious and hilarious all wrapped up into one!

    Congratulations!

  5. joz1234 Says:

    does your mom really have your dad call and apologize? That’s hilarious!!!

    Oh, and in your parent’s house? I’ve done it in my in-laws house, but I couldn’t do it in my parent’s house…unless they weren’t there!

  6. Ginny Says:

    Eeek! I’m so behind! Congratulations!!!! Spring baby, then? Both my kids were spring, so I’m a little biased, but that is the awesomest time for a baby!

    Plus, married or not, getting pregnant at your parents’ house? How bad-ass is that?

  7. insider53 Says:

    Your parents house! You guys are daring, I salute you. And he gave you jewelery, what a guy.

  8. faemom Says:

    ymK~ We wanted to be pregnant, I just couldn’t believe we already were.
    TKW~ Yeah, family is family. They’re all crazy.
    KathyB!~ I think better swear everyone here to never tell my dad.
    jane~ After the first baby, the guy realized he loved babies.
    joz~ The Husband is the one all hung about it. I’m surprised I seduced him because usually all he’ll do is hold my hand and perhaps give me a hug under my dad’s roof.
    Ginny~ Thanks! The Husband is just relieved my dad never found out.
    insider~ Yeah, we can be. Sort of. I know, but only for one pregnancy.

  9. ck Says:

    You must be reeling in all of this, Fae. So much to process! You have such a great memory, though. Congrats again on #3!

  10. Zeemaid Says:

    Hah, I totally love his reaction when he realizes where you got pregnant. HAH AHAHAHAHA… my husband still tells me that he knows he’ll get the blame if I get pregnant again. *L*

  11. faemom Says:

    ck~ I missed your comment. I can’t help walking in the past when certain things remind me of it. Like the pregnancy. Again.
    Zeemaid~ The Husband lives in eternal fear of my dad. With good reason. My dad can be scary.


Leave a Reply

