Bad Guy!

I sat watching Good Morning America, catching up on some news and weather, so that if the time comes, I can have an intelligent adult conversation without mentioning potty, vomit, or he-did-the-cutest-thing-yesterday.  Unfortunately the only adults I share this information with are my mom, who has a vague interest in the world, my brother, who doesn’t care for anything outside of sports, and my dad, who loves to rile up his liberal daughter.

Sean came over and sat on my lap.

Sean: Bad guy!

Me: No, she’s a reporter.

Sean: Bag guy!

Me: No, that’s the nation’s financial advisor.  Though some would agree with you.

Sean: Bad guy!

Me: No, that’s the news’s financial explainer.

Sean: Bad guy!

Me: No, that’s Chris Cuomo.  He’s actually a daddy.

Sean: Daddy?

Me: Yup.  He has two little kids.

Sean: (pause) Bad guy!

Me: Yup.  He took a little girl.  Don’t worry we’re going to teach you self defense.

I hugged and kissed him as I dreamed of all the ways I would slowly torture the person, who ever touched my child, to death.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

11 Responses to “Bad Guy!”

  1. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    I never knew fear until I had kids. I am with you.

  2. insider53 Says:

    What is wrong with people who do this? Why are there so many?
    They say there is no cure and after listening to one talk about being in love with a 3 year old and thinking that’s normal, that we just don’t understand, I believe there is no cure but death.

  3. Nancy Says:

    I am right there with you. Unfortunately, my obsession with bad guys and warning my son about being careful has made him a little nervous around strangers. I can feel his hand tighten mine whenever someone gives him the creeps.

    Hope I haven’t “ruined” him with my own phobias.

  4. theycallmejane Says:

    I know what you mean. I am so very uncomfortable with the death penalty – I’m sure I couldn’t be on a jury if it involved this kind of decision. But I pray to God I wouldn’t just hunt down and kill anyone who would hurt my child.

  5. beth aka confusedhomemaker Says:

    It breaks my heart to think of those cases. I know I can’t keep my children from the world I just want to keep the bad guys away. Children bring hope for the future and the reality of what it would mean if that future were ever harmed.

  6. Freedom Debt Relief Says:

    That really hurts to see these distressing news… but you are a great mom with a great kid. You will be just fine 🙂

  7. ymK Says:

    I am right there with you. I don’t even want to imagine my kids being in a similar situation. When I was pregnant with Dimples, and was looking for names for her, one name stuck with me which meant ‘protected by God’. And thats the name we gave her. May God protect all kids.

  8. faemom Says:

    TKW~ Exactly. Before I had kids, I knew I could protect myself. Now I worry about protecting my kids.
    insider~ A late night, sugar filled, dorm conversation, we figured it out. Drop them off on a remote island with all the supplies they need to live with. That’s it.
    Nancy~ The best thing you can do is teach him to trust his instincts. Nine times out of ten those instincts are right on.
    jane~ I was anti-death penalty before kids. Now if some one hurts my kid, that person better pray that the authorities find him before I do.
    beth~ I remember reading how wolf packs exile or kill wolves that harm the cubs. I think we have something to learn from them.
    FDR~ Thanks. I’m trying my best. It makes me wonder how my dad handled being a cop and coming home to three little kids.
    ymK~ That’s beautiful. I gave my boys strong names for a similar reason.

  9. KathyB! Says:

    I think if mom’s were allowed to have their way with these creeps there might be fewer of them.

  10. rakster Says:

    I would rip them limb from limb. It’s hard not to be scared.

  11. faemom Says:

    KathyB!~ Oh, I think you might have something there.
    rakster~ Me too!


Leave a Reply

