Ravages of Morning Sickness

I don’t know how it’s possible, but I forgot how horrendous the first trimester was.  The Confused Housewife told me it’s like war, you have memories but it’s not the same as being there.  And she’s right.

With Tornado E, I puked in the mornings, about an hour after I arrived at work.  It became painfully obvious to the head cashiers that I was in the family way.  One morning I puked three times before I even made it to my car to drive to work.  I called in sick.  Baja style tacos were not Tornado E’s friends, and the little punk would make me sick throughout the pregnancy if I didn’t have enough fruits and vegetables to satisfy him.  Also I learned later on, to never go to bed on a full stomach.  Oh, the horror.

It was in this pregnancy I learned that morning sickness was questioned.  The day I called in sick, The Husband came home with his new theory: “Morning Sickness is in your head.”  I think it is pretty obvious that I’m a saint because he’s still alive today and was left alive to say several more just as stupid comments in the first trimester.  (That’s another post.)  I’ve posted before about an older book questioning it, but imagine my horror when I recently picked up my copy of What to Expect When Expecting to read the same asinine comment.

“The fact that morning sickness is more common and tends to be more severe in first pregnancies supports the concept that both physical and psychological factors are involved. . . .  Emotionally, those pregnant for the first time are more likely to be subject to the kinds of anxieties and fears that can turn a stomach; whereas women in subsequent pregnancies may be distracted from their nausea by the demands of caring for older children.”

Naptime Writing, if you want to jump in the car to bash this person’ brains out, I’ve got the car filled with gas and ready to go.

When I was pregnant with Tornado S, I vomited so much that Tornado E would stand just behind me pretending to puke too.  When we were visiting my family, my dad and brother got a real kick of watching Tornado E pretend to vomit outside a close door.  Lovely.  I was sicker longer with Tornado S than I was with Tornado E, moving straight into the second trimester.  I didn’t gain weight two months in a row, worrying my doctor (who never mentioned his worry until everything was fine).  I also learned I got car sick in the first trimester.

Now I’m pregnant with this one.  I’m not throwing up as often, but I’m nauseas most of the day.  Just spitting out toothpaste makes me dry heave.  I’m calling it “progesterone poisoning” from The Girlfriend’s Guide to Pregnancy.  This little “sickness” isn’t regulated to the morning, and as The Husband finally realized, there’s nothing to make a woman feel better.  Each cure works optionally for each woman or even each day.  Yesterday tortillas worked; today it’s fried chicken.  It doesn’t matter.  It’s just trying to find out which is the enemy of the day.

So to answer your question Bad Mommy Moments, yes, I am sick.  I’m sick like a dog.  I’m wondering why I got myself into the mess.  And damn it, where’s my pizza?

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

18 Responses to “Ravages of Morning Sickness”

  1. beth aka confusedhomemaker Says:

    It’s true it is like war, you remember what it was like but it’s totally different going through it again. And you do battle a variety of food enemies throughout a day.

    But the big difference is at the end of pregnancy, unlike war, if everything goes well you get an adorable baby to hold & love forever. And that is a pretty amazing thing.

  2. Not Drowning Mother Says:

    Not sure if it is advisable to mention vomit and pizza in the same post. Someone might sue. Like Pizza Hut or The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

    Just sayin’.

    (PS. Hang on in there…)

  3. insider53 Says:

    I call shotgun in the van! I mean it literally. Geez has no one heard of hormones. Next they will be saying hot flashes are a figment of your imagination.

  4. Kelly Says:

    I never had morning sickness, not with any of my pregnancies. ***WAIT!!! Before you drive over here to kick my ass, let me explain.*** Instead, I had 9 months of chronic, around the clock, 24 hour a day nausea. That NOTHING took care of. Ever. There were days that I cried, I wanted to puke so badly, because I was convinced that if I could just throw up, I’d feel better. It didn’t work.
    I’m all for beating whoever it is that says it’s psychological.

  5. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    I am hoping you will throw out that asinine “What to Expect” book–I hate that thing.

    I now am considering myself lucky that I was only extremely sick with one of my two…to be sick with 3 is almost too hideous to imagine. xoxo

  6. ymK Says:

    Throw that trashy book away. Please. Now.

  7. Ink Says:

    ***Hugs*** As someone who had morning sickness 24/7 for the whole nine months both times, I understand and am so empathetic. It was hard, during that time, to imagine that I wouldn’t feel that way forevermore. Your toothpaste story brought back a memory of one day that I tried five times to brush my teeth and yacked after each attempt at cleanliness. Whoever said that morning sickness doesn’t exist or is in one’s head should be removed from the medical profession. It’s debilitating. Cinnamon gum helped a little, but I only got a little relief and that was from some medicine my doctor gave me. You might want to ask about that. It took the edge off, enough to function…but in the meantime, I’m sending you lots of hugs and wishes for a peaceful patch. And I’m going to say really loudly, because you deserve it: You poor thing! I’m sorry you have to go through this…

  8. incognitomom Says:

    I was pretty fortunate regarding morning sickness. I had slight nausea the first trimester and then I had morning sickness (not always relegated to only the mornings) from weeks 11-17. Raw chicken was the enemy for me.

    Edie’s whole fruit lemon popsicles were my friend. I later read somewhere that citrus fruits help with morning sickness so I guess that’s why the popsicles worked for me.

    Ugh, toothbrushing sickness. I remember that. Try switching to a toothpaste that is not gel or that had no “extras” in it. Colgate’s plain white toothpaste helped a little for me. Another friend of mine who had problems with brushing her teeth during pregnancy said that toothpaste worked for her also.

    Hope you feel better soon.

  9. incognitomom Says:

    Oh yeah, and about morning sickness being in our heads … only a man could come up with that theory. Maybe someone should tell them the pain they feel from a swift kick in the crotch is all in their minds.

  10. theycallmejane Says:

    I’m so glad you finally mentioned the Girlfriend’s Guide instead of that other silly book – what was it again? (obviously not worth mentioning). I had “morning” sickness 24/7 for the first 6 months of my pregnancy. Preparing food (which I normally love to do) was the worst. Just don’t do what I did. I got this brillant idea that I’d use the crockpot because my morning sickness usually got worse as the day progressed. So in the morning I stuffed my crockpot full of yummy goodies for my family to enjoy at dinnertime. Plugged it in and let it do its work. All. Day. Long. The smell was awful (to me, anyway – I heard from everyone else it smelled fabulous). And it lingered….for days! It was cold outside but my head was out the window or I was on the screened porch every chance I could get. It’s a wonder I didn’t catch the flu. Crockpots are definitely not recommended during pregnancy.

  11. Evenshine Says:

    WHAT?? When did this happen?? I missed the I’m Preggers Post. That’s what moving’ll do to ya, I suppose.
    I was horribly, hospital-admitted sick with both of mine. It’s what started my blog. So there could be an up side!
    Anyway, congrats and sorry I didn’t catch on until now!

  12. KathyB! Says:

    The only upside is you won’t look like a beluga whale at the end of your pregnancy 🙂

    I’m trying to look for the silver lining here and that’s all I got. I’m sorry.

  13. faemom Says:

    beth~ Eye on the prize. Eye on the prize. Is that “Eye of the Tiger” playing in the background?
    NDM~ I was hoping to borrow your legal councel . . . .
    insider~ LOL I thought if you meditated, drank lots of water, and exercise, you don’t get hot flashes.
    Kelly~ According to all the books, you had morning sickness. You don’t have to vomit to get it. Two, I’m so sorry; that must have sucked.
    TKW~ It’s amazing what you’ll forget with mommy amnesia.
    ymK~ I was planning on using it for shooting practice.
    Ink~ Thanks. But you’re the real hero. I should be out of this by the end of the fourth month. I’ll be contemplating murdering my husband if it goes longer, since it’s all his fault.
    incognito~ You’re hilarious! I’ll totally try the toothpaste you recommended. Evan is already complaining about my breathe.
    jane~ And to think it was a brilliant idea to begin with. You poor thing. That must have been horrible.
    Evenshine~ LOL Moving is a pain. I’ll have to go back and read the best of Evenshine if they’re still there. I can’t imagine how horrible that was. And you went to do it again. Wow.
    KathyB!~ That’s what I’m thinking! Except the vomiting isn’t happening as much, so there will be no fear I’ll hit 200 lbs again. At least I love throwing my weight around.

  14. naptimewriting Says:

    Throw out that book! What to expect is notoriously WRONG on things, especially this. All day sickness is usually worse in second and third pregnancies, as any OB will tell you. Stupid book. Why do people buy that book?
    I’m glad you gassed up the car, cuz we’re going! (Just don’t go too fast or I’ll puke.)
    It does feel like progesterone poisoning. I’m notoriously prone to food poisoning, and that sensation that, food or not, morning or night, lying or standing, I want to puke. At people who say I’m making it up.
    You know when I’m at a bookstore, I always turn the What to Expect and the BabyWise books around so nobody can find them. My own little customer service.

    Hope you feel better soon. My mornings are getting better. My evenings are getting worse. Hope you’re just peachy by tomorrow.

  15. Zeemaid Says:

    awwww…. sorry to hear your feeling nauseous… I guess this is a bad time to mention that I never had morning sickness… not once…. okay you can hit me now… 😉

  16. JennyPenny Says:

    Oh, BLECK! I had very bad morning sickness with both my pregnancies. Sometimes I would retch so hard that I’d pee my pants, which meant having to wear a maxi pad, which iI believe is a horrible thing to have to when you’re supposed to be enjoying nine menstruation-free months. And you know, one day when I found nothing but pistachios palatable, I ate a whole bag of them only to retch them up later on my commute home. But I didn’t want to barf in my car — or in the middle of slow-moving traffic on the beltway in DC — so I kept throwing up in my mouth, swallowing, throwing up, swallowing. In a way I guess that means whomever says morning sickness is in a woman’s head is right — I was holding it in my mouth, which is technically in my head. Morning sickness is horrible! I really feel for you. I hope you have the kind that magically disappears at the end of 12 weeks. You’ve earned it!

  17. faemom Says:

    naptime~ You’re awesome! I hope you feel better asap!
    Zeemaid~ I’m thrilled you were blessed with no morning sickness. So was my mom and her mom. Some people are so lucky.
    Jenny~ OMG! Since Evan I always pee my pants. Totally sucks. You kept it in your mouth? Eww. And wow. Becuase I would have stuck my head out and wretched all over the freeway.

  18. The Worst Things of Pregnancy « Faemom Says:

    […] Sickness.  I hate hate HATE the first trimester.  I think I complained about it enough here, here, here, here, and here.  Oh and here.  To say I’m sick and tired through those first months is […]


Leave a Reply

