It’s Got the Official Stamp

I spent an hour waiting in the freezing cold waiting room.  I get it.  No pregnant woman likes the hot September weather, but I get cold easily during the first months.  Soooo, I’m brining a sweater next time.

And how crazy is it that they found my chart from eight years back?  Yeah, weird.  Yes, in the end, I had to change ALL the information.

Apparently, I’m not eating enough carbs. 

Since it is eight weeks, with an April 18th due date, I assured my mom, who was begging to go, that all they would do was a Pap and a breast examine, and I want NO ONE else to witness those.  Besides do I want to look like this is my first rodeo?

But, this new doctor is all about high tech.  When the nurse assured me that next time would be my Pap but to strip off my bottoms and slide under the “sheet.”  And I use the term “sheet” Very Loosely as it’s more like an oversize paper towel.  I wondered what the heck was going on.  I actually I was a little worried.  Trauma from when I was six and had to have a Pap-like test because I had wiped myself so hard that I got toilet paper up there.

So when the doctor came in, introduced herself, and lubed up the ultra-sound, I was a bit nervous (because those things are cold, hard, and icky) and excited because really even though I was chattering with cold, I couldn’t help but keep eyeing the machine.

There is was.  The bean.  A centimeter.  The tadpole.  Just lying there, growing, beating it’s sort of heart.  All I could think of was, well, at least it’s not some horrible virus or cancer.  Because the second before, my doctor assured me that morning sickness got to be it’s worse at 10 weeks.  Thanks, doc.

11 Responses to “It’s Got the Official Stamp”

  1. Ink Says:

    Yay, you got to see the heart beating! That’s awesome!

  2. Mira Says:

    No matter what, the ultrasounds make me cry and I love whenever I can get one. Love seeing that baby!

  3. insider53 Says:

    There was eight years between ’80 and ’88 and all the pregnancy rules had changed so I get how you feel.

  4. ck Says:

    Welcome, Lil’ Bean!

  5. ymK Says:

    Those tiny beans just melt our hearts, don’t they? All those cold, sticky, and icky exams seem so worth those tiny beans.

  6. holeycheese Says:

    It’s totally worth it those cold, hard thingies to get to see the baby… 🙂

    We too have good news now – one month after you.. 🙂

  7. theycallmejane Says:

    So incredibly excited for you! Congrats, again!

  8. naptimewriting Says:

    Yeah, the ultrasound is the only thing that made me less mad at the frog for killing me with nausea and exhaustion.
    Your MD is full of crap. Mine says sometimes the sickness gets better after one month of puking, sometimes at 10 weeks, sometimes at 12, and usually by 14. But it’s totally different for every pregnancy and every woman. In fact, my MD says your sickness will go away tomorrow.

    See why I use her?

  9. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    Those internal ultrasounds are so amazing–you don’t expect to see anything, and yet there that little-tailed-critter is. With heart a pumping away.

    Congrats. Sorry you are still sick…hopefully you’ll be one of the lucky “gone-at-12-weekers.”

  10. Zeemaid Says:

    sorry that you’re having morning sickness or whenever sickness….. it’s a total drag. but love hearing you had an ultrasound already. Too cool! and yes those ultrasounds are wet, cold and icky.. *LOL*

  11. faemom Says:

    Ink~ It was totally awesome.
    Mira~ Oh, I know.
    insider~ I can’t believe how much things have changed in five years.
    ck~ Thanks. So when are you babysitting?
    ymK~ Yes. Yes, they are.
    holeycheese~ YEA! Congratualtions! You better find sometime to blog now.
    jane~ Thanks.
    naptime~ You rock my world!
    TKW~ I can only hope. It’s what I wish for now with wishing wells.
    Zeemaid~ Let’s not forget how frightening they look.


Leave a Reply

