Pool Adventures

Stupid thing didn’t post and I swear I checked it!

I wish I had more pictures.  I wish Vista didn’t hold our picture program hostage.  I wish I had my laptop fixed, so I could show you.  Tornado E has a great impression of a hammerhead shark.  Swimming.  In water.

He holds one leg and uses his other leg and arm to swim underwater three yards.  It’s hilarious.  It’s amazing.

Tornado E started out the summer refusing to put his head into the water.  He believed he would be just fine hand crawling along the pool wall.  He wouldn’t hold his breath underwater.  He screamed if you tried to make him jump off the wall to you.  And I couldn’t get him into the city swim lessons.

As I’ve said before, I taught him to swim.  We went to my parents’ house every day, and I worked with him.

Tornado E and Papi also have an imitation of a great white, where my dad spins Tornado E under the water and then throws him out into the air.  Yup, my family loves swimming tricks.

Last week Tornado E followed Uncle M’s example and leaped from the diving board!

My son jumped off the diving board into the deep end and swam to the side.  We just stood there, staring, until we remembered to clap and cheer.  My dad has forbidden the term “deep end” because he believes Tornado E doesn’t really understand how deep the pool.

To emulate his uncle more, Tornado E takes a running start and does a “cannon ball.”  He has yet to understand or have the ability to grab his legs to make a ball, but he kneels.  All this while he shouts “cannon ball” from the top of his lungs.

Not to be out done, Tornado S too has his own cannon ball.  He climbs out of the pool at the steps.  He runs around the whole pool.  Then he shouts “cannon ball.”  He turns around and slowly climbs back into the pool, landing on the top step.

We’re winding down pool season here, or at least, we’re considering putting on the cover.  It’s in the mid to high 90s here, but the night is getting down to the high 60s, making for one chilly pool.

Yesterday I had resigned myself to failing at teaching Tornado S ANY swim safety.  Ok, he does blow bubbles, but that’s it.  After an hour of convincing Tornado E to pick up the Lincoln Logs he spilled all over my parents’ family room, Tornado E ran out to finally join his brother and Papi in the pool.  I walked out to have my dad show me what he was working on with Tornado S.

Tornado S can now crawl along the wall.  Only left to right, but it’s still progress.  Next year he’ll be swimming.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

5 Responses to “Pool Adventures”

  1. theycallmejane Says:

    Don’t beat yourself up about “failing” to teach swim safety. I used to be a competitive swimmer and didn’t learn to swim until I was 9 yrs. old. I taught swimming. I was a lifeguard and I’ve witnessed what some moms in our neighborhood are doing with ISR (Infant Swimming Resource). With children of my own I’ve realized that learning to swim and appreciating the dangers of the water are as individual as learning to read. Some grasp it early, some don’t. Do what you can to keep your child safe – your children will get it in their own time.

  2. KathyB! Says:

    Hooray for Sean… you’ll have two little sharkies next year. Plus another little bundle to worry about teaching.

    🙂

  3. Zeemaid Says:

    I’m so amazed that you taught them yourself. I think this is what I’m going to have to do with E. We just can’t seem to fit into swim schedules here…

    Good job!

  4. insider53 Says:

    Incredible that you taught him. Kudos!

  5. faemom Says:

    jane~ Thanks for the support. I just worry about him loving the pool but not knowing to swim. Scary times.
    KathyB!~ Ugh! Why’d you have to remind me?
    Zeemaid~ It wasn’t as hard as I thought. Just be consistent and patient.
    insider~ Thanks.


Leave a Reply

