Personal Style

I’m pretty laid back when it comes to what Evan wants to wear.  Blame it on having school uniforms most my school career.  Blame it on the “dress code” my parents enforced while I was in high school.  Blame it on the fact I looked up to Melissa Joan Hart from Clarissa Explains It All.  Blame it on the fact I hung out with drama students my teenage years, including a boy who believed wearing a kilt once in a while was manly.  (Ok, that might also be responsible for me enjoying a good looking guy in a kilt, but moving on.)  Blame it on the fact I felt perfectly fine walking around a college campus with fairy wings. 

I was sure I could handle anything Evan threw at me.  You want to be a witch for Halloween?  No problem.  You want to wear your cape to Target?  Let me pull it out.  Striped polo shirt paired off with camo shorts with his boots?  Fine.  You want to wear your doctor scrubs?  Okey-dokey.  You’re wearing your Mickey ears with one ear missing because you’re a super hero?  Sure.  Chargers jersey, brown-floral shorts, cowboy hat, and orange crocs?  All right.

I was looking forward to a little girl playing soccer in a princess dress, so of course I’m prepared for Evan’s dressing creativity.   I love his creativity.  I took pictures for a week of his outfits before school started because I was worried what socialization would do to his style.  I know when people look at him they know he dressed himself.  Picking out his clothes is the only reason Evan gets dressed.  The kid would be a nudist if he could.  But like his Mommy, he loves color, so he loves to wear his own style of clothing.  And I could dig it.

But now he wants to wear his shirt and shorts backwards. 

What?!  Are you kidding me?  No.  Absolutely not.  No way.  Do you want to look certifiable?  Do I want to look certifiable?  Some lines just have to be drawn.  Like no sandals in the winter.  Like no jeans in the hot, hot desert summer.  Like all clothes have to be facing the correct way.

A year ago I was wrestling to put clothes on him, and now I’m wrestling to put the clothes right on him.

I tried reverse psychology.  I let him wear it around the house.  I forbade it.  I chose clothes for him as a punishment.  I’m inches from bribery.

So any other suggestions?

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

14 Responses to “Personal Style”

  1. Evenshine Says:

    Just to be the devil’s advocate here a minute…

    Sandals in the winter and jeans in the summer are for protection, for the sake of his health.

    Backwards clothing might not fall into this category. I say go with it. You might look certifiable, but really- are you that worried about what people think?

  2. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    I think it’s perfectly fine to let the little man wear his clothes backwards in the house. But if you leave, he has to let you “normalize” things.

    Good luck with enforcing that….

    I cannot talk because for 6 months when she was 2, Miss D. insisted on wearing a tutu and a Superman t-shirt. Every day.

  3. KathyB! Says:

    Just let him go backwards. If you fight him on this he’ll just dig in harder. You’ll have bigger battles to fight. I promise. Save your strength.

  4. ck Says:

    Did he meet any kids from Jersey in his new school? That sounds very Southern Jersey, circa 1991.

  5. theycallmejane Says:

    I have no help for you. I still can’t get my 5 yr. old to wear his shoes on the right feet. He says “they feel better that way.”

  6. Gibby Says:

    OMG, I am on the floor right now, dying!
    I have to agree, I say let him wear his clothes backwards. Does he have any that wouldn’t be as noticeable if they were backwards? Say, plain t-shirts or something?

    And yes, I admit it, it is much easier for me to tell you to go ahead and let him do this than it would for me to let my own kids do it, LOL!

  7. holeycheese Says:

    I have no idea.. My boy is not even close to as stubborn.. he might decide on which shirt to wear and not let it go – even if it means that the only matching pants are long – and it’s hot outside. But he wouldn’t fight for wearing it backwards.

    I’d say either you force him into wearing them your way.. and within a few days he’ll know it’s not worth it fighting.

    Or you let him wear them his way.. and after a few days he’ll see it’s neither fun nor comfortable to wear them that way.

  8. insider53 Says:

    I say let him. If he goes to school and the kids say something he will stop or he will choose his own path and continue. Sometimes you have to get out of the way so that they can grow and learn from experience, even when your instinct is to protect him.

  9. parenting BY dummies Says:

    Fairy wings? Okey dokey. Here’s my idea. Let him wear them backwards to certain places; places no one will care, like to visit relatives or to play in the yard, but not to like church or his psychology appointments where he goes to deal with the fact that his mom is certifiable in her fairy wings:)!

  10. Court Says:

    Make him watch hours of videos of that 80s group “kriss kross” and tell him he’ll turn into them if he wears his clothes backwards out in public.

  11. Court Says:

    On second thought, that might be a bad idea if he sees it reinforced. Um, lock him in the cellar? Just kidding… haven’t had my coffee yet.

  12. ymK Says:

    I have no idea. Although this post scares me and makes me feel guilty at the same time. Scares me because Dimples might start doing this, and guilty because I complain about my Dimples eventhough she does not insist on wearing things backwards, not yet.
    Good luck! 🙂

  13. Zeemaid Says:

    I say let him do it.. he’ll get tired of people telling him his shirt is on backwards. Besides wait till he has to go to the bathroom.. how awkward is that having the zipper on the back.. (LOL)

  14. Ink Says:

    Court said what I would have: he’s totally Kriss Kross! So, think of it as him embracing retro-style and let him have a go. He’ll get sick of it soon enough. 😉


Leave a Reply

