Popping Out

When I was pregnant with Tornado E, I was caught off guard with the baby bump.  After months of waiting and not seeing it, I didn’t notice it until I looked at pictures I had just taken the weekend before and saw my gut popping out over my jeans and under my once-cute shirt.  It seemed that only a little while before did my belly button popping out looked cute.  Now it looked like a beer belly.  I went shopping that day.

With Tornado S, I was a little busy with Tornado E, my own personal tornado, to pay attention to how I looked.  Every day I showered quickly, dressed quickly, threw my hair in a pony tail quickly after getting Tornado E dressed.  I had forgotten that after the first child, the subsequent pregnancies pop earlier and earlier.  One busy morning, I finished packing for the trip Tornado E and I were taking to my parents’ house.  I took a quick shower and got dressed in a cute outfit because I had an OB/GYN appointment before we flew out.  I turned for an inspection in the mirror when I screamed in horror.  My gut had popped.  At that moment, the door bell rang, and when I demanded that my ride, my hip fashion-forward friend, tell me why she didn’t notice this problem last week, she was as surprised to see the gut as I was.  I ran upstairs to quickly change, knowing I wouldn’t have time to repack the clothes and would have to buy more in Arizona or use my dad’s closet.

This pregnancy I was determined not to be caught off guard.  I watched.  I waited.  I had been warned that you pop with the third pregnancy the moment you found out.  Imagine my surprise when I still had not popped at the end of the third trimester.  But then last week I was taking a shower, and I noticed there was more of me to scrub.  I popped.  I popped up, not low.  It looks like a donut gut versus a beer belly.  Just enough that I wish I made those shirts that said, “No, I’m not fat.  I’m pregnant.”  Since fashion has changed to long shirts to cover post-baby-bellies, I have a few weeks before I have to pull out the maternity shirts.  But at least I’ll be watching.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

8 Responses to “Popping Out”

  1. Evenshine Says:

    Popping is my favorite part. But you SO need a great snarky shirt.

  2. insider53 Says:

    The hot shirt when I was pregnant with ’79 was the one with an arrow on the chest pointing down at the word baby…..and yes I bought it.

  3. theycallmejane Says:

    Now popping up…doesn’t that mean it’ll be a girl? Or a boy? I can never remember the old wive’s tales.

  4. KathyB! Says:

    I think you are having a girl. I always popped up. Every. single. time.

    I hope you get a girl 🙂

  5. Ink Says:

    Popping = instant extra-cuteness.

  6. sunnymom Says:

    I popped up super early with Tooters so it just might be a girl after all. I think she was showing her inner diva the second she was concieved because she wanted everyone to know she was in there and I ended up HUGE!!! But I have to admit I still have a couple of maternity things after 7 and a half years that I wear on laudry day or to clean in lol.

  7. faemom Says:

    evenshine~ Yes, I do. 😉
    inside~ That’s awesome!
    jane~ I have no idea.
    KathyB!~ I’ll put you into the pool. I’ll let you know if you win.
    Ink~ It’s nice to have friends like you. Because I’m not pregnant cute yet. Give me a couple months.
    sunny~ You crack me up. I have a few maternity shirts that look good pregnant or not. I won’t tell if you don’t. 😉

  8. Freedom debt relief Says:

    Kathy is right. Its a girl


Leave a Reply

