Baby love

Since I had some money to burn and we were out of toilet paper, I thought we might as well go buy some cleaning supplies and groceries.  You know, fun stuff.  We were at Wal-Mart, America’s favorite place to buy junk or my last resort to save a penny.  The boys were having a good day.  Then we saw them.

Triplets.  About a year old.  Each in his/her own wagon, hooked together to make a train, pulled by the grandma as the mom paid for the stuff.  And Tornado E was in love.

We happened to all walk out together and through the parking lot.  Tornado E, riding on the cart like a fireman, kept waving and calling out “Hi, Babies!  Bye, Babies!”  The babies were enamored by Tornado E, smiling big smiles.  Tornado S was amused for a moment and then moved on.

As luck would have, we were parked next to each other.  Tornado E asked if he could say hi to the babies, and I gave him consent, reminding him to give them some personal space.  He then proceeded to have a long discussion with the mom and grandma over all kinds of things.  I finally roped him back, saying they had to go, we had to go.  The grandma smiled at me and told me her youngest talked like that to everyone too.

I tried to buckle Tornado E into the car, but he was trying to get away.

Tornado E: Mommy!  Mommy!  I have to tell them something!  I have to tell them that I’ll come to their house today to help them with the babies!

Me: But Tornado E, you have school today.

Tornado E: Mommy!  I have to tell them I can’t come over today!  I’ll tell them I’ll come over tomorrow!

Me: That’s sweet of you, baby.  But look they’re busy getting the babies in the car.  We’ll tell them the next time we see them.

I only hope that Tornado E wants to be this helpful with his own baby.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

10 Responses to “Baby love”

  1. theycallmejane Says:

    Ohhhhh! That is so precious! It sounds like he’s going to make the PERFECT big brother!

  2. Mira Says:

    So even kids love triplets. There’s just something about them that makes everyone think they’re cuter than others and I’ve never understood. It’s not like they’re a matched set! But I bet he will love having a baby of his own!

  3. Evenshine Says:

    I think he will, until about 2 weeks in when he realizes the downs, as well as the ups!

  4. ck Says:

    At least you don’t have to worry about him loving THREE babies! Man, that would be exhausting.

  5. Court Says:

    how sweet! i bet he will be for sure. i think some kids are more prone to the baby bug, i’ve gotten lucky that kaiya has it and she loves her baby to pieces!

  6. parenting BY dummies Says:

    I’ve missed you. I’m so happy we’re back together. I need you to come over to my blog so that I remember how much we love each other and I can come over to your blog and spend my entire morning ignoring my children while we’re together. It’s only fair! Maybe he will want to help out that much with his own baby. I doubt it, but that’s not entirely a bad thing. Sometimes their idea of help is really just a nice way of saying they are totally effing things up! At least, that’s what #2 is doing when he is “helping” by taking off #3’s poop filled diaper without my knowledge or consent. Not. Cool.

  7. ~Laura Says:

    Oh how sweet is he?!? I hope he is that enthusiastic and helpful when your new little one comes along!

  8. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    Wouldn’t it be awesome if he wanted to help out that much with his own baby? Alas, I think the luster will wear off…

  9. faemom Says:

    jane~ He will until the baby starts moving, then he’ll terrorize it. At least that’s his MO with Sean.
    Mira~ What? They’re not a match set? I find all babies adorable. With triplets I feel adorbleness for the babies and pity for the parents. 3 times the diapers and tantrums.
    Evenshine~ Yup, two weeks or a month. Depending on how much sleep the baby does.
    ck~ My doc double checked to make sure there was only one. I kept thinking about KathyB! and having four boys.
    Court~ Your daughter is so adorable!
    PbD~ I’ve missed you too. Let’s never part. #2’s helping sounds like so much fun. Not cool at all.
    ~Laura~ We can always dream.
    TKW~ I’m sure the luster wears off; he’s into causing Sean misery.

  10. zeemaid Says:

    aww how sweet is that. THat is one of those crush em to your chest moments. too precious!


Leave a Reply

