Pumpkin Aversions

The Husband has food issues.  He hates using his hands to eat if there is any possible way to spill.  Hamburgers must always been on plates.  Pizza is always cut.  Chili is eaten at luke warm temperature.  Just to watch someone eat something messy (like those old Carl’s Jr. commercials), gives him the creeps.  We were at a restaurant once where they served him still boiling soup, and he threw his chair about a yard back.  It’s probably the funniest thing I’ve ever seen.  And I, I love to eat with my hands; I love to get messy.  While doing a sociology experiment, I had to eat a utensil dinner without utensils.  I adored eating my rice bowl that way so much that I did it for years.  The Husband and I both agree that this weird trait of his shouldn’t be passed to the boys as long as I also taught them to eat with utensils as needed.

Today we carved the pumpkin.  And yes, I love digging my hands into the pumpkin and pulling out the innards.  (Can you guess that I mix my meatball mixture by hand?)  The Husband wanted to carve, but he was more than willing to let me clean the pumpkin.  In my mind, I pictured the boys and I ewwing and squealing as we pulled out piles of slimy pumpkin vines.

Instead.  As I pulled out the innards, the boys shied away.  I couldn’t convince them to touch them at all.

Evan: Mommy!  They’re the icky!

Me: (to The Husband) I wonder where they get this from.

The Husband: Your side.

Me: (short laugh) Right.  No one in my family is grossed out by food.

The Husband: So all the looks come from your side and all the weird food aversions come from mine?

Me: Apparently.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

7 Responses to “Pumpkin Aversions”

  1. Jessica Says:

    I’ve never heard of a guy with food aversions for that reason…makes my husbands anal-ness seem like a walk in the park.

  2. insider53 Says:

    I don’t like pumpkin guts much either…..but a hamburger……seriously.

  3. theycallmejane Says:

    My boys reacted the same way when we carved our pumpkins! And I was so stunned. I thought for sure they would love getting messy, feeling the slippery, slimey guts of the pumpkin.

  4. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    You should have seen my girls shriek and scamper like ninnys when the guts came out…

  5. faemom Says:

    Jessica~ It’s the weirdest thing ever. And it’s getting worse with age.
    insider~ I know; he’s a little crazy.
    jane~ I’m glad I’m not the only one with boys like that.
    TKW~ Hehe! Probably just like my boys. I even chased them with the guts.

  6. zeemaid Says:

    *LOL* Hey my husband has no weird food things and my son would not put his hands in either. He thought it was so gross and didn’t like me to even get near him with the pumpkin goop. J on the other hand dove right in and loved every minute of it. She was even proprietary over her gut pile. There was no way I could put mine on her pile. She wanted to see how big her pile grew. *L*

    E was more cautious this year too. who knows. 😉

  7. dafrenchie Says:

    pizza must be cut….and i thought i was the only one around slathering it with mayonnaise and rolling it like a giant pancake! xD


Leave a Reply

