Yellings in the grocery store

We were at the grocery store with one of those stupid car carts because they had been banned from them for a month earlier and I figured that it was time to try again.  We were in the canned foods aisle picking up food for the food drive, when I heard Evan shouting at the top of his lungs.

Evan: Stop touching my penis!  Stop touching my penis!

I investigated to see Sean had his hands on the wheel, and Evan was just having fun.  Ever have a moment when you couldn’t figure out if you wanted to scream or beat a child?  I pulled Evan out of the cart and quietly explained why we don’t say things like that in public when they are not true.  Then he marched next to me for the rest of the grocery trip.

There has to be an easier job out there.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

10 Responses to “Yellings in the grocery store”

  1. Fie Upon This Quiet Life Says:

    WOW. That’s got to be embarrassing. Poor you.

  2. theycallmejane Says:

    I’m sorry I’m laughing. But since it didn’t happen to me, it IS funny! (Don’t worry — my boys get me like that in public all the time. It’s a boy thing!)

  3. jc Says:

    “There has to be an easier job out there”
    ALL OF THEM. PICK ONE.

  4. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    Giggling like an adolescent over here…

  5. beth aka confusedhomemaker Says:

    Am I laughing but only because I’ve been in those moments & there is nothing else you can do except wonder “WHY, LORD? WHY?”

  6. faemom Says:

    FUTQL~ I don’t embarrass easily, luckily.
    jane~ I’m sure I’ll laugh at it too. . . . one day.
    Evenshine~ Exactly!!!
    jc~ Seriously. And to think The Husband thinks my job is a walk in the park. *manic laughter*
    TKW~ Laugh now . . . .
    beth~ Or you think, “Lord, help these boys survive to manhood because it’s a 50-50 chance right now.”

  7. insider53 Says:

    Being a stay at home Mom has it’s perks, ie hugs and kisses, giggles and smiles, but to the rest of the world it is a thankless job that requires no skills. No one understands the boredom and frustration that goes with it or the fact that there are no days off, not even sick days. No pay, no social security. So why do we do it. Tiny hands and feet, trusting eyes and unconditional love in other words hugs and kisses aint so bad.

    being a stay at home Mom

  8. joz1234 Says:

    oh boy. I’m sorry. I hope he marched to the beat of your drum the rest of the way. 🙂 In hindsight, it is kind of funny though.

  9. faemom Says:

    insider~ You just said what our last marriage councilor told The Husband. It’s a great job, but it is full of frustration, monotony, and boredom.
    joz~ He did, until we were leaving and he hit me in frustration. Buddy, you’re in time out the moment we’re in the house.


Leave a Reply

