Into the bowl

I had pulled the boys from their bath, and they, as their custom, ran into the family room to huddle in their towels.  I made sure that they were watching child appropriate television programming.  Tornado E was huddled on the arm chair.  Tornado S stood with his towel like a cape.  I turned my back to get a diaper in the bedroom.

Then I heard the unmistakable sound of water hitting plastic.

Tornado S must have found one of The Husband’s water bottles and is dumping it out.  I turned to scold.

Only Tornado S didn’t have a water bottle.

He was peeing, on accident, into a snack bowl someone had left in the middle of the floor.  The pee was perfectly filling the bowl.  I stood in shock, not wanting to say anything in case Tornado S moved, making more of a mess.  When he was done, I ran out of the room to get paper towels.

Me: Tornado S!  You peed!

Tornado S: I sorry!

Me: No, it was an accident.  We just need to get you to the potty.

Tornado S: I sorry!

I hugged and kiss Tornado S.

Me: It’s ok, Tornado S.  It was an accident.  Next time we’ll get to the potty.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

6 Responses to “Into the bowl”

  1. Fie Upon This Quiet Life Says:

    Oh man… I hope that snack bowl didn’t overflow. You did the right thing by not saying anything until he was done. That might have been a disaster.

    I was just saying today that I’m really glad our #1 kiddo is potty trained. It’s going to be kind of hard getting back into the habit of diapering — diapering #2, that is… whenever he comes next month.

  2. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    Oops! I bet you Cloroxed the heck outta that snack bowl!

  3. jc Says:

    You might want to work on his aim. 🙂

  4. joz1234 Says:

    You are so better than me. I would have freaked out and he would have run all the way to his room, peeing everywhere. Great way to stay calm. I will try to do the same if (when) that ever happens at my house. 🙂

  5. faemom Says:

    FUTQL~ It didn’t overflow. My mom wants me to train Sean before #3 arrives, and I worry about getting back to that diaper habit.
    TKW~ What? Dish soap won’t cut it?
    jc~ And his choice of room.
    joz~ It always pays to stay quiet and calm espeically when you hear them be quiet. It’s easier to catch them in the act.

  6. theycallmejane Says:

    What a great mom you are! I’m so impressed with your composure. But I’m with TKW – chlorox all the way!


Leave a Reply

