Another Pregnancy Complaint

Somewhere in the third semester of carrying Tornado S, I felt a horrible pain around my uterus.  Not a cramping pain, not a labor pain, just a pulled muscle pain.  And it hurt!  But there was no blood.  I figured I might as well wait until my next appointment so I could show my doctor where the pain was.

Doctor:  Fae, how we doing today?

Me: All right.  But I think my uterus is detaching.

Doctor: Really?

Me: Yeah, I have pain here and here.

Doctor: (chuckles) Well, your uterus doesn’t detach.  You’ve just pulled the ligaments.

Me: (mumbling) It feels like it has.  (louder) What can I do?

Doctor: You’ll have to get one of those pregnancy belts.  Any other questions?

Me: No.

Doctor: Well, let’s hear the little guy’s heartbeat, shall we?

So I started wearing one of those belts, and guess what.  Babies do not like those things.  They kick and punch at them all the time.  All.  The.  Time.

With this pregnancy, the pulling started a month ago.  I started wearing the belt.  The little dude kicks at it.  All.  The.  Time.  While it took eight months of pregnancy to become stiff in my inner thighs at night, I’m already feeling that bliss.  The pain crawls up both inner sides to meet in a happy reunion just above my crotch.  Which makes it hard to jump out of bed when Tornado E started having nightmares every night for the last four nights.  Yup.  Someone remind me this in the third guy no longer wants to cuddle, and I start dreaming of holding another sweet smelling baby.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

9 Responses to “Another Pregnancy Complaint”

  1. Ink Says:

    ((((((Fae)))))) I wish I could send you a magical pillow on which you could lounge for the remaining weeks. And everyone would serve you, too.

  2. Maureen@IslandRoar Says:

    Oh man, how well I remember that feeling.
    This too will pass, but it takes so frigging long, I know!
    Hang in…

  3. femspotter Says:

    Is the belt like a girdle? I saw a girdle for the baby bump in Target. Same thing? I have much to learn. Today, I learned yet again that eating every three hours is completely necessary in T1. And I am experiencing the joys of pickles and Mallomars…together! 🙂

  4. Fie Upon This Quiet Life Says:

    I am totally looking forward to no more ligament pulling. That has been so difficult this pregnancy. I can’t sit for long or I’m stiff. I can’t stand for long or I’m in dire pain. Lying down pulls them, too. You’re a champ for having a third kid. After this pregnancy, I’m positive I couldn’t handle it again.

  5. Jane Says:

    My advice? (Not that you asked for it – but you’ll be glad I did!) Find someone trained in prenatal massage. If anything, it’ll distract you from your aches and pains. Trust me on this one!

  6. Gibby Says:

    OUCH!!!! Oh man, I hope you find some relief. I remember as I had a lot more aches and pains with my second pregnancy, I almost felt like my body was asking…are we really doing this again? And I had to answer….yes, YES we are.

    Hang in there!

  7. faemom Says:

    Ink~ Thanks. But isn’t that the wish for every mom?
    Maureen~ You mean pass as in when the kid is born?
    femspotter~ No, no. There are girdles for after the pregnancy. This is a belt (which looks almost like the girdle) that is put underneath the belly to help distribute the weight better. You may not need it in the first trimester. Eating is always good inT1.
    FUTQL~ Does it hurt when you sleep so when you shift your weight you have to wake up and CAREFULLY move so you don’t cry out in pain?
    Jane~ I just may take that advice. Even though I don’t trust massages.
    Gibby~ Doesn’t it make you wonder how women with a lot of kids do it, like 19 kids?

  8. zeemaid Says:

    I used a Belly Bra. They are great. It’s like wearing a spanx undergarment… kind of a tank top/bra and belly support all in one. I really needed support with my last baby, him being 12 pounds and all.

    Hope the pain passes soon Fae. It can be a drag, I know.

  9. peppa pig Says:

    really enjoyed reading that thanx a lot


Leave a Reply

