The Pirate Ship

So of course, we had to get Sean his own pirate ship.  Since that was all his little heart desired.  The Husband and I stayed up until midnight putting things together for the surprise.  Yet another Christmas Eve of us bickering our frustration at each other because including directions with the toys is now so not cool.

The next morning, Evan woke first and looked at his toys before coming and getting us.  We smiled as he exclaimed over each toy.  After 45 minutes and no Sean, I went in to check on him.  He was just lying in bed, thinking, contemplating, relaxing.  When he saw me he climbed out of his bed, and I ran into the family room for the perfect spot to catch a picture of the look on Sean’s face when he saw his pirate ship.

Sean came out into the family, taking in the magical scene.  I lifted the camera up, focusing it.  His eyes landed on the pirate ship.  Those dark brown eyes lit up.  A smile burst on his face.  He took a running step forward.  I started to press down on the button.  Then Evan jumped up and bumped his brother out of the way.

Yup, Evan cock-blocked his little brother from Sean’s own toy.  Nice. 

Sean was determined.  They raced to the pirate ship, getting there at the same time.  Sean let out a yell as Evan grabbed the pirates and the ship.

I have spent the last several days trying to make sure everyone is sharing and not hitting, punching, kicking, scratching, biting, pushing, bludgeoning each other over a toy pirate ship.

Christmas is magical.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

10 Responses to “The Pirate Ship”

  1. jc Says:

    Pirate ship piracy… LOL!

  2. Gibby Says:

    Ha ha, poor Sean! I hate to tell you this, and it took me a few painful years to break down, but we get two of everything now. I know, it’s ridiculous, but it works. Two Am Girl dolls, two skateboards, two sets of clogs they have been eyeing, two musical instruments, etc, etc. Of all people, it was my mom who told me to do this. I have to admit, there is peace. Well, for a while, at least! 🙂

  3. Court Says:

    Aw yay! I would probably bludgeon someone over a pirate ship too, just so you know. 🙂

  4. Coco Says:

    Ha! All I can think of is the Pirates of the Carribbean ride now, and your two boys duking it out over control of the Black Pearl.

    Avast, ye scury swabs! There be pirates here. Arrrr!

  5. faemom Says:

    jc~ Good point. It is funny.
    Gibby~ Right. Two of everything. Got it. Though, Evan already has a pirate ship, which they fight over, which is why I got Sean his own. Dang.
    Court~ I’ll make sure Santa gets you one for next Christmas.
    Coco~ The good thing about them being pirates is pirates had strict rules like bedtimes. But they were still a drunk and rowdy bunch.

  6. Jane Says:

    I’m so sorry I’m laughing – but I am…laughing, that is. This is a classic scene on Christmas morning – at our house, anyway. I remember a friends saying to us (when we realized our boys would be 10 mo. apart in age) that now we’d have to buy two of everything. Oh no, we thought, OUR boys will have to learn to share. Ha! This year (for the first time ever) we duplicated a toy (the Leapfrog Didj). And the peace in this house is wonderful!

  7. beth aka confusedhomemaker Says:

    LOL 🙂 It’s almost like you were at my house, writing about my boys. Seriously it’s insane how the fight over things–even if they ARE THE EXACT SAME!!

  8. Fie Upon This Quiet Life Says:

    Since we had our new baby ten days ago, our nearly four-year-old wants a pacifier. He hasn’t used a pacifier for three years, but that’s what he wants. Sorry kiddo… no going back on that. But I’m thinking about just getting rid of pacifiers in general so that there’s no question. Poor ten-day-old son. (And me.)

  9. faemom Says:

    Jane~ Yeah, I’m thinking you’re probably right. Sometimes you want to spread out the gifts according to age, but I doubt that would work.
    beth~ I know! And now I apologize to my parents on a daily basis for what my brothers and I put them through.
    FUTQL~ Oh, good Lord. Good luck. And Congratulations! Maybe remind your eldest how big he is now and not a baby.

  10. zeemaid Says:

    OMy. I had to chuckle over this mainly cause I’m so glad this happens at someone else’s house too!

    We ended up buying two of all the cool stuff for the girls once J got old enough to get cool toys too. It’s sad in a way because you’d think we’d be able to teach em to share better…


Leave a Reply

