Wet Accidents

We’ve been having a little trouble in the household lately.  By we, I mean, Evan and me.  Evan has been peeing his pants.  And I have been trying not to be so damn frustrated over it.  It’s been months since he’s had an accident, excluding the weekend The Husband was watching him.  Actually I can’t remember the last time he peed his pants.  Before if he had an accident, it was just a little because he couldn’t hold it any more, and I would send him into the bathroom to finish, and he would cry out of embarrassment and frustration.

Last week, he peed in his pants when we were at my parents’ house.  He came up to me nonchalantly and told me.  I removed his pants, scolding him, asking him why he did it, and put him in some spare underwear I carry just in case.  Accidents happen, right?

Then Sunday when we were at my grandma’s house, he peed his pants again.  With the same flippant attitude he told me.  I wanted to wring his neck.  Why, Evan?  Why?  Why didn’t you stop playing to go potty?  I checked the diaper bag to learn I forgot to replace the spare underwear and walked to my parents’ house to get into my car to pull out the spare spare underwear.  Apparently I forgot to replace those.  So he free balled it in some shorts. 

Then Sunday night at my parents’ house, we were playing.  He was behind me as I sat on the couch, trying to reach Sean, so I would sit back, pressing my weight against him, mentioning what a soft but loud pillow grandma had.  Then I heard an “Uh-oh” followed by a warm, wet sensation on my back.  EVAN L-!!!!!  I swear to God I’m going to kill this child.  What were you thinking?  Why didn’t you go to the potty?  Why didn’t you listen to your body tell you went to the potty?  I had no spare underwear, pants, or shorts.  My mom suggested swimmers, but Evan jumped at that idea.  So I slapped on one of Sean’s diapers on him and took him home. 

Yesterday I reminded him to use the bathroom all morning.  I sent him off to school.  I didn’t even think it would be a problem.  He’s never had an accident at school.  He would be too embarrassed.

And I would be wrong as the teacher beckoned me over and discreetly told me about Evan’s accident as she handed me a plastic bag of urine soaked clothes as Evan scurried out from between us with pants obviously too small for him.  Lord, help me.

We had a talk about it.  Again, he pleaded he was too busy playing.  I know this is a common issue for boys, but three accidents in two days? 

I’m making him go every two hours, whether he wants to or not.  Mainly not.  I’m kicking myself for giving away my potty book because I read the whole thing and learned the program, why do I need it?  Famous last words, Fae.  Famous last words.

Could it be the new baby coming?  Possibly, but Evan is fascinated by babies.  He has to talk to them and their parents whenever he sees one.  He’s been carrying a baby doll around pretending to be Daddy.  But he does have his moments when he wants to be a baby, making whiny noises, flopping around when he doesn’t want to do something.  Then I remind him babies take two naps, babies eat baby food, and babies wear diapers.  That cures it.

Could it be The Husband has been gone for over a week and will be gone for at least one more, if not two?  Possibly, but The Husband has been gone for longer period of time without Evan having accidents.

So, yeah.  I have no idea.  Like every other parenting issue.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

15 Responses to “Wet Accidents”

  1. Evenshine Says:

    Breathe in, breathe out, and repeat after me:

    It is all a phase. It is all a phase.

    I found that little girl went through a stage like this- for no comprehensible reason she’d go in the bed at night, when she had been dry for months.

    And you’re doing great…though I wouldn’t have given those potty books away, either. 😉

  2. Maureen@IslandRoar Says:

    Oh, man. Hopefully it’s just that one step back before 2 forward. My middle daughter, at 3, started doing this in my last trimester with my youngest (they’re ancient now, almost 19 and 15). She just all of a sudden seemed not to care. I wanted to kill her cuz I knew she’d been doing it.
    She did wind up back in diapers till several months after the baby was born; but only because I was losing it and had no patience and figured even putting her back in diapers was better than dealing with her mean mommy. But I hear that’s not common(it going on long enough to break out the diapers again), so here’s hoping he’ll jump back on the ball!

  3. itneverrainsinseattle Says:

    From what I understand, Maureen’s experience is kinda rare. But your experience is COMMON, Fae, and like Evenshine said here (and I said on a previous post, and I’m sure others have said elsewhere here): This is only a phase. This is only a phase.

    As Maureen says, this typically is a one step back, two steps forward deal. Usually, when a major breakthrough is about to happen in one area, a minor setback is experienced in another. My guess is that Evan is probably about to figure out cold fusion. Or economic recovery.

    (PS: both my oldest and middle son have been through this at around the four-and-a-half year mark. The middle child just got through it a few weeks ago; it lasted about a week and a half. And, interestingly, he all of a sudden is exploding in his skills with letters and sounds. He is writing and sounding out names… it’s freaky how good he as at it, esp. given his age.)

  4. Gibby Says:

    Don’t be mad, but with you being pregnant and all, I thought you were going to say you were having accidents. It is number 3 after all! Stuff isn’t as strong as it once was!

    OK, now that I was totally gross on your blog, I have some advice…don’t worry, and don’t make a big deal of it. It’s definitely a phase. Chuckles went through it and at the time I was so mad at her! Once I caught her with pants wet all the way down to the back of her knees, but she just kept playing with her friends. I can only imagine what the neighbors thought. Anyhow, it was over as fast as it started. The same will happen for Evan!

  5. CynthiaK Says:

    Max totally went through this a few months ago, too. It lasted about a week and then resolved on its own. Hopefully the same will happen with you! It’s so frustrating, isn’t it? I was really peeved when Max was doing it. Like, hello? You’ve been going to the toilet yourself for how long and suddenly this?

    But, don’t worry. It will pass, hopefully fast.

    On an unrelated note, you had commented on Crumbs that you thought I should post my own top ten best things about parenthood. Well, I took your advice for tonight’s post! Thanks for the push.

    You can see it here: http://crumbsintheminivan.blogspot.com/2010/01/real-ten-best-things-about-parenthood.html

  6. joz1234 Says:

    Uh oh! i just saw my future before my eyes. Bert does the pee just a bit in his pants thing…he’s 5. I hope he doesn’t start doing this. Phase or not, I might pull out my hair.

    good luck and share your wisdom with me if you find some through this trying time.

  7. holeycheese Says:

    It’s a phase.. and it’s very boyish..
    My boy is 5.. or wait.. 5½.. and he still does it once in a while.. sometimes twice the same day. Why?? Too busy playing… He has been dry since he was 2 years and 9 months. He doesn’t even remember wearing diapers. But there have been many accidents along the way.

    Just don’t make it a big deal.. then he might turn it against you and do it on purpose.

  8. beth aka confusedhomemaker Says:

    I’ve been there. I can be frustrating. My oldest never had it as an issue, but my 2nd & 3rd (the girl) did. I think it is a phase & family changes (even if kids are excited about them) can lead to their rhythms being thrown off.

    Hope it passes soon.

    And I’ve also tagged you:
    http://theconfusedhomemaker.com/2010/01/06/tagging-me-in-seven/

  9. faemom Says:

    Evenshine~ My mom reminds every time I have a potty issue over how stupid it was to give away my potty book. Like I’m not beating my head, planning on getting one in the next few months.
    Mauree~ Man, that must have been rough!
    INRIS~ Thanks for the advice. Maybe Evan will start writing his name nicely instead of scribbling out like he has a medical degree or something.
    Gibby~ You missed the post where I talked about peeing when I vomited and peeing when I coughed.
    CynthiaK~ I think, I’m getting the point. It’s a phase. And I can’t wait to read your post.
    holey~ Thanks! Because it’s all a phase. And I miss you. Come back to blogging soon.
    joz~ If I find that wisdom, you’ll be the first to know. As long as you tell me if you beat me to it.

  10. faemom Says:

    Beth, Thanks.
    It’s only a phase. It’s only a phase. It’s only a . . . .

  11. joz1234 Says:

    okay, you more experienced moms…

    if you have to wash his clothes more than once a week, almost every week from these “leaking” incidents, do you just do it? That’s the killer…he uses up all his clothes in about 4 days otherwise and he has about 12-15 pair of underwear. He’s not fullout peeing…just a little tinkle in the pants because he waits too long constantly.

  12. Jane Says:

    I know I’m late commenting and I’m only going to echo what you’ve already heard but I’m going to say it anyway…

    It’s only a phase! This, too, shall pass!

  13. faemom Says:

    joz~ If we don’t get any replies on this, I’ll post it as a real post. But my suggestion is make him go every hour or two, stressing that if he listened to his body, you wouldn’t have to have him go so much.
    Jane~ Ok. My new mantra is “It’s only a phase; it’s only a phase; it’s only a . . . . “

  14. zeemaid Says:

    potty books… people buy potty books? Okay that’s where I’m going wrong…. I’m waiting to push the no pull ups thing on O when we are in the new house. It has laminate flooring and bathroom right next to the family room so I don’t have to worry about accidents in the carpet.

  15. holeycheese Says:

    hi again.. I tried starting to blog again but it didn’t work out.. Guess I’m to lazy. Though I did start blogging about us afterschooling our five-year-old.. since he needs a little bit of help to get ready for the first grade. You find it here http://afterschoolinginisrael.blogspot.com
    I also want to announce that I did ultrasound yesterday and we are having a boy this time 🙂


Leave a Reply

