The New Vocabulary

I was doing dished.  I know, in the day!  Weird.  Cleaning up after breakfast.  I know, before lunch!  Weird.  When I watched Tornado E walk into the family room and accidentally drop his toy.

Tornado E: F-it.

Me: (In the Voice) What?

Tornado E looked around, feigning confusion.  I walked into the family room, kneeled on one knee, and looked him in his eye.

Me: What.  Did you say?

Tornado E: (in a meek voice) F-it.

Me: Why. Did you say that?

Tornado E: Because Daddy does.

I arched one eyebrow, stood up, took Tornado E in one hand, and marched to the closed office door.  I knocked.

The Husband: (muffled and distracted) Yes?

Me: You better come out here and join me in a talk with Tornado E.  He just used the F word and said it came from you.

I might have still been using the voice because I heard The Husband drop his earphone set and roll the chair as soon as I finished talking.  He unlocked and opened the door, staring at us.  His eyes read “I don’t know when he heard me say it.”  But he wisely didn’t say the words because I just glared at him.  Because I knew Tornado E got it from The Husband.

The Husband: Let’s talk.

I sat Tornado E down on the floor and joined him.  The Husband followed suit, trying on his best I’m-an-angry-dad-don’t-push-my-buttons look.

Me: Tornado E.  Do you know what that word means?

Tornado E: No.

Me: If you don’t know what it means, why would you say it?

Tornado E: I don’t know.

Me:  There are some words out there that aren’t good to use.  They don’t work well.  Often they make the person saying them look stupid.  The word you used is one of those.  You’re not allowed to say it.

Tornado E: But Daddy does!

The Husband opened his mouth to say something.

Me: I don’t care if Daddy says it.  I’m not talking about Daddy.  I’m talking about Tornado E.  I only care if Tornado E says it.  If you say it again, you’ll be going to time out.

The Husband: If you hear Daddy say it, you can put me into time out.

Me: Do you understand me?

Tornado E: Yes, Mommy.

Me: Now I want an apology and a kiss and a hug.

Tornado E: I’m sorry, Mommy.

He stood up to give me a kiss and a hug.  He ran off to play with Tornado S.

Me: Do you think it’s time you watched your language?

The Husband: I haven’t said that in a while.  I don’t even watch football games here just in case.

Me: You used it yesterday when you were yelling at one of the employees over the phone.

The Husband: You can hear that?

Me: Babe, back when we lived in the condo I could here you yelling all the way down the stairs, out the garage, and across the street at the trash bin.  You only have a hollow door between you and us.

The Husband: So, I guess it’s time for me to watch my language.

Me: Yes.
Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

11 Responses to “The New Vocabulary”

  1. Maureen@IslandRoar Says:

    I remember when my son started saying “dammit!” at 2. He said it with exactly my tone and used it appropriately. I had to have a similar talk, telling him we were both going to start saying “darn it!” It did work. Altho now he’s 22 and we both get to say “dammit!” again.

  2. countryfriedmama Says:

    I miss the F word. “Darn it” just doesn’t cut when I drop dinner on the floor before it ever gets to the table, but we learned to curb our vocabulary a long time ago.

  3. Evenshine Says:

    Nicely played, Fae!

  4. joz1234 Says:

    you handled that very well. I like how you integrated the main culprit into that lesson. I also think he did a good thing by telling Evan he will go into timeout when he says it. Nothing like fairness to win a little guy’s cooperation.

  5. Gibby Says:

    Ha, that is awesome! You did such a great job talking to him. Definitely need to take a page out of your book.

    (but again, the child in me thinks it’s so funny when kids swear!)

  6. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    I am absolutely stunned that Miss D. and Miss M. haven’t started dropping F-bombs. You know MY language!

  7. Ink Says:

    This is brilliant and I’m stealing it for future use: “If you don’t know what it means, why would you say it?” Thank you!

  8. Jane Says:

    Love the way you brought husband into the mix! Way to nip it in the bud – with both offenders!

  9. faemom Says:

    Maureen~ It must be nice to cuss again. I feel like an old cartoon villian. Curses. Rats. Drat.
    CFM~ I think if I dropped dinner, I would say “Fffff . . . . sigh.” Yup, not satisfying at all.
    Evenshine~ *bow* Thank you. It means a lot coming from you.
    joz~ I was impressed how The Husband handled it too. I just wanted to let The Husband know that he’s words (and actions) effect the boys.
    Gibby~ When they make you laugh, you hold it behind the mask of cool gaze. (Check Inktopia’s newest blog theme picture for an example.) Then leave the room to have the laugh.
    TKW~ That’s because they’re saving it for when they are at school or in front of a prudish old lady.
    Ink~ I can’t take full credit. My mom used that on us. I plan on using it when I get into teaching, if the need should arise.
    Jane~ Nipped? Wait until you read today’s post.

  10. zeemaid Says:

    wow, handled that so well. it’s great that you both got on the same page so quick.

  11. itneverrainsinseattle Says:

    Oh, Fae. You really are an awesome mom. Well done.


Leave a Reply

