What? I hate tag!

Beth at The Confused Homemaker (which you should try out if you haven’t because she’s smart and funny and all) tagged me the other day.  Thanks, Beth.  Really, thanks.  I’ve been beating my head since trying to figure out seven things I haven’t said in my blog.  I’ve come up with two, so I figured I just throw myself off a cliff and see what I can figure out while I write.

1.  I fight coming out from under anesthesia.  I’ve been under twice, and when I come out, I want out.  I sit up; I throw the mask off; and woe to the medical assistants and nurses that try to restrain me.  I push, punch, shove.  I think that probably should be in my medical records.

2.  I can twist my tongue so it looks like a C.  It’s a natural gift, but when I had tongue surgery as a kid, I had to work on it to get it back.

 3.  I can’t whistle.  No matter how hard I try, I can’t.

 4.  Speaking of whistles, my parents have a certain tune they whistled to get us kids to come.  My parents didn’t want to shout out our names in public, so this is what they decided to do.  It worked like a charm, carrying across crowded, loud public places.  The problem is when I hear it now I still stop what I’m doing and listen before realizing I’m an adult and I’m not shopping with my parents.

 5.  I slept with my teddy bear in to high school, only stopping because he was getting really beat up.  I never would kiss him in fear that I might slobber on him, so I sniffed his fur instead.  I also dressed him in a dress, even though he was a boy.

6.  I missed graduating with honors by a thousandth of a point.  But I did convince them to announce that I was graduating with honors when I received my diploma, so my family could here it.  That’s all that matters, right?  That and why the hell couldn’t they round up?

 7.  I’ve stolen from Disneyland.  I’m not proud of it now, but back when I was in college and going to Disneyland every week, my best friend and I would go to New Orleans Square, go into the pirate store and steal a plastic jewel every time we went.  They were charging 7 bucks for a tiny little bag of them; we were robbing from the rich.  Apparently they’ll let you still up to $100 of stuff before stopping you, though it’s a rumor I never tested.

Now I have to tag seven other people who you should all read and they should all attempt this.

1. Ink (because she always seems to give me homework)

2. Jane (because I think she’ll do it)

3. Gibby (but I’m not sure she’ll do it)

4. Evenshine (who I think will do it)

5. Dumb Mom (because I dare her to do it)

6. Incognito Mom (because I think she should do it)

7. You (because some of you are hoping to be tagged and I just can’t read minds yet but I’m working on it)

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

14 Responses to “What? I hate tag!”

  1. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    Tongue surgery? OWWWWWWWWWWWWW!

  2. beth aka confusedhomemaker Says:

    I can be a real pain in the ass like this tagging thing 🙂 But I’m so enjoying your seven. I still have my childhood teddy bear still, his name is Cho-Cho bear (he’s in a train conductor’s outfit) but I never put him in a dress. You are one sick puppy 😉

  3. Jane Says:

    I just want to know…how could you tell your teddy bear was a boy?

  4. jc Says:

    *blink blink blink … blink*
    Tongue surgery?

  5. Ink Says:

    Fae, those are all so interesting! I don’t know many pirate-jewel-stealing/honors-student-rounded-up/tongue-curling chicas. Proud to call you my peep.

    I’ll get on the post…thanks for the homework! Why are you and I always assigning each other work? 😉

  6. CynthiaK Says:

    Well, I’m going to avoid having yet another thing on my to-do list, but reading everyone else’s is kinda fun…

    BTW, thanks for the jokes on Crumbs this weekend. I did laugh, in fact. You did your job. 🙂

  7. Court Says:

    Sadness about the whistling. I can’t either. Sooo many have tried to teach me. Each is certain they have the final tid-bit I’ve been missing for thirty years.

  8. insider53 Says:

    Oh Fae I can’t whistle either. Nice to know I am not the only one.

  9. faemom Says:

    TKW~ BUT I got to eat ice cream, milk shakes, and Eegees for two weeks.
    beth~Yes, you are. 😉 And yes, I am! 😉
    jc~ I was born tongue tied, and they had to fix it because I couldn’t eat or talk write. Babies just get it snipped and all is well. The rest of us have to get the surgery. I was 8.
    Ink~ Because we like to torture each other like true friends.
    CynthiaK~ You’re welcome. I hope this means you’re going to try this.
    Court~ Oh, I know. We’ll be freaks together.
    Insider~ Non-whistlers unite!

  10. Evenshine Says:

    What are eegees?????

  11. faemom Says:

    Virgin daiquiris with hunks of fruit in them. They’re only sold in my home town. And they’re awesome.

  12. faemom Says:

    Sorry, Jane, I just realized that I never answered you because my BFF was reading this and said hey, I agree with Jane, how did you know? Ooops. I named him Teddy, and even as a small child, I always referred to Teddy as a he. That’s how I knew.

  13. Gibby Says:

    Yeah…those little plastic gems? I had to buy TWO bags of those when we went to Disney. Hate those things. Now I can blame the high prices on you, hahahaha!!!!

    OK, I need to think of a list…

  14. faemom Says:

    Gibby, those prices were already too high before I started nabbing.


Leave a Reply

