Tornado S Declares Independence

Tornado S is going through a phase.  He’s asserting his independence, fighting for his freedom to say no when ever he wants to what ever he wants because his mommy is a horrible tyrant that makes him take baths, hold her hand in parking lots, makes dinners, and refuses to let him stay in his pajamas all day if it hasn’t been declared pajama day.  But those damn No’s are driving me nuts.

Tornado S, it’s bath time.  NO!

Tornado S, sit still I have to wash your hair.  NO!

Tornado S, we have to get you dressed.  NO!

Tornado S, do you want to pick out a shirt?  NO!
Tornado S, let’s put on your shoes. NO!

Tornado S, it’s time to go to the store.  NO!

Tornado S, we have to put on your jacket.  NO!

Tornado S, stay by Mommy in the store.  NO!

Tornado S, hold on to the cart.  NO!

Tornado S, don’t touch that.  NO!

Tornado S, hold my hand, please.  NO!

Tornado S, let’s change your diaper.  NO!

Tornado S, did you poop?  NO!

Tornado S, we have to go take Evan to school.  NO!

Tornado S, we have to go home.  NO!

Tornado S, we have to go get brother from school.  NO!

Tornado S, we have to go.  NO!

Tornado S, it’s dinner time.  NO!

Tornado S, pick up the toys you’re not playing with.  NO!

Tornado S, it’s bedtime.  NO!

Tornado S, it’s time to put on your pajamas.  NO!

Tornado S, do you want to pick out a story?  NO!

And sometimes his no means yes.

Do you want a muffin?  NO!

Do you want juice?  NO!

Do you want a cookie?  NO!

Sometimes he runs.  In another month or so, he’ll be faster than me.  Great.

Sometimes he stands his ground, shouting no with his hand out in a stop sign.  Like that will stop me.  Like the No stops me.  When will these kids learn that their mama is a tank?  She’s going, and they’re coming with her, no matter what.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

8 Responses to “Tornado S Declares Independence”

  1. jc Says:

    Oh good. you have a politician!

  2. Jane Says:

    I actually remember a day I had like this with my youngest. And I was so sick of the “No!” response that the next time he said it I plugged my ears with my fingers and starting singing, “Lalalalala, I can’t hear you!” He doubled over with laughter and we were able to move on. (But it didn’t work every time 😦

  3. joz1234 Says:

    Those are hard phases. Hopefully by the time he can outrun you, he will have moved on? Isn’t he almost 3? If he is, oh my goodness. Bert’s 3’s were awful!! He’s still growing out of them at 5. It does get better, but you might be pulling your hair out. Did you go though this with Evan?

  4. Maureen@IslandRoar Says:

    “When will these kids learn that their mama is a tank?” I love this. So cleverly put and so true. Oh, but how they try…

  5. suzicate Says:

    Don’t you just love it when they learn to say NO… and WHY?

  6. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    I’m with Suzicate–I’m not sure which is worse, the NO or the WHY? You have my complete sympathy.

  7. faemom Says:

    jc~ You rock my world! Did you know that?
    Jane~ I love that when you broke you became a six year old again. Love it!
    joz~ I did go through it with Evan, though when he refused naptime it was a screaming, stomping, yelling, escaping festival of a two hour marathon. I should thank my lucky stars that Sean has not done that yet. Knock on wood.
    Maureen~ It’s funny how kids just don’t get that their mama isn’t going to let them win.
    suzicate~ I have yet to have a bad Why phase, so I guess I should be lucky it’s only No?
    TKW~ You and I need to stick together. We also have picky eaters.

  8. zeemaid Says:

    I hate this phase too! very frustrating!


Leave a Reply

