What if The Shining was about the Mom instead of the Dad?

I’m not feeling very maternal right now.  Something about lack of sleep and whining children does that to me.  Thank God I’m not stranded in a creepy hotel without TV, though I can’t have beer at this point.  And thank God I’m not surrounded with snow and that I can shove the kids outside, if I could only convince them to get dressed.

Evan had a dry cough last week that the principal decided was bad enough to be sent home from school.  He got a fever that afternoon, but it disappeared before the next morning.  That night he woke up with another fever, but it too was gone before the next morning.  With the advice of a humidifier from the doctor’s office, Evan’s cough turned into a productive one.

Then Saturday night Evan woke up with a headache around 4am.  It took a half hour to get the meds working and he to sleep.  Then last night he woke up with his cheek hurting.  (Not his teeth, not his head, his cheek.  I know.)  He cried and whined so much I gave him pain meds because I didn’t know what else to do, though I still think he must have bumped his head.  A couple hours later he woke with an earache. I couldn’t give him anything because the meds were already in his system.  Every half hour he woke whining and crying until 6am when I declared it late enough for cartoons.

But will Evan let me put a warm wash cloth on his ear to help with the pain?  No.  Will he chew gum?  No.  Will he whine and snivel and rhyme everything with Mommy in a whiny, annoying voice?  Yes.

Sean has a cough too and is jealous over Evan’s attention.  He wants snuggled and carried.  He whined on the floor for fifteen minutes over the lack of cinnamon rolls on his breakfast plate.

I’m glad I was so tired I went to bed at 10.  But I’m still extremely tired and cranky.  The Husband is in CA for another week.  As for the other reinforcements that have been a Godsend?  My dad starts his new job today, coming out of retirement, and my mom is working a jewelry booth for my great uncle at the Gem Show.  Not that I haven’t dealt with sick babies before and on lack of sleep, but it reminds me how well I have it.

Now if only I can figure out one more dinner meal for the weekly meal plan that the boys might just eat.  I already crossed popcorn and pie off the list.  But I’m still seriously considering ice cream sundaes.

Wish me luck.  If I don’t return in a day or two, know that I’ve run away to Old Mexico and can’t speak the language.

10 Responses to “What if The Shining was about the Mom instead of the Dad?”

  1. ck Says:

    Ha! I think you’re on to something, Fae. Maybe the Shining was secretly the plight of a SAHM. It makes so much sense! PS: check out this link, it’s a sketch my brother did of Shelley Duvall from that film. I think you will relate: http://beautifulrust.net/images/artwork/dp_shelly.htm

  2. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    I just think Shelley Duvall is so bizarre-looking.

    Sorry the kiddos are sick. Daphne is home with the poops today so I can relate. And, yet again, it is snowing. eeeeeek.

  3. joz1234 Says:

    That dry cough is a pain. Ernie has it, and I think he got it from another boy at our nursery who came in with it last week. Luckily if I give him a small bit of mucinex for kids then he can sleep almost cough free. I am lucky that we have grandma here this week so that I can leave him home while I go into the nursery. He’s not running fever, but today he quit eating, so I am expecting a fever at any moment.

    Sorry your two are sick. That sucks hang in there, girl.

  4. Jane Says:

    You poor thing! Doing my best to send help and hugs through the internet wires!

  5. itneverrainsinseattle Says:

    Fae:

    All work and no play makes Jane a dull girl. All work and no play makes Jane a dull girl. All work and no play makes Jane a dull girl. All work and no play makse Jane a dull gril:

    All work and
    no play makes
    Jane a dull
    girl

    All work and no play makes Jane a dull girl. All work and no play makes Jane a dull girl.

    All work and,
    no play

  6. Maureen@IslandRoar Says:

    Oh, so sorry. 2 down at once stinks!
    Hope they feel better and you get some rest!
    (the nurse in me can’t help adding if his ear wakes him up again he may need antibiotics…)

  7. suzicate Says:

    I think icecream sundaes sound perfect…it has calcium! Hope your week gets better.

  8. faemom Says:

    ck~ Oh, I can relate. Should I write a whole paper on the subject and send it to Mr. King?
    TKW~ I agree. Should I send you chocolate, hard alcohol, or both?
    joz~ I’m hoping Ernie doesn’t get worse. Our doc says kids can just pick up coughs and not be sick, though the damn things last forever. They suggested honey and lots of it.
    Jane~ Thanks. We all napped several hours. It helped.
    INRIS~ I was thinking: No TV and No Beer Makes Homer . . . something something.
    Maureen~ Your nurse instincts were right. We saw the doc and got the meds.
    suzicate~ It’s the one thing I miss. Ice cream for a meal. As a parent, I feel obligated to set a good example. Dang.

  9. Gibby Says:

    This is, by far, the best post title I have ever read!

  10. joz1234 Says:

    Well Ernie is officially worse. 102 fever today. doctor appointment tomorrow morning to rule out ear infection/strep


Leave a Reply

