Child Labor

I’ve been making some small adjustments to my cleaning regime.  Things like do dishes as you cook or do the breakfast dishes during lunch.  The crazy one is to actually pick up as soon as the activity is over.  I know, I was not meant for this homemaking business.

The funny thing is the boys are catching on.  Sure, they don’t pick up most of the time when they’re done playing with someone, but they pick up without bitterly complaining.  I watched Tornado E today do his “push-ups” on The Husband’s yoga mat that he left out, and when Tornado E was done with it, he rolled it up and gave it to The Husband to put away.  I don’t know what shocked me more, the push-ups or the picking up of the yoga map.

While Tornado S is not to keen on picking up, he can’t be left out.  Tornado E’s drop used to be set the table, but Tornado S would run and do it before Tornado E, so now Tornado E puts on things I think he can carry.  He’s only dropped the hot dogs once.  I started requiring Tornado E to help clean off the table, and Tornado S trots behind Tornado E carrying his own stuff.

Then there’s the morning chore chart for the boys.  It’s a brilliant idea when I remember to use it.  Yesterday Tornado E checked the abandoned chart on his door and started to race up the list (Because my boy is all about doing things backwards, like writing his name.).  He checked off the chores with a crayon, moving to one chore to the next without any reminding or coaxing.  The boy made his bed without me saying anything.  I just watched, pointing out Tornado E did more around the house than The Husband, who sipped his tea.

Yup, things are going great.  If I can keep this up for another fifteen years or more, I’m writing a book on parenting.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

10 Responses to “Child Labor”

  1. Maureen@IslandRoar Says:

    Very cute. Train ’em while they’re young! I can’t tell you how many friends I have that are always shocked my kids have always had chores. They just do it themselves, either because they don’t want to bother, or because it’s easier.

  2. Brae Says:

    Awesome for you! My children, when asked to do something, just whine “No, I want YOU to do it!”

  3. Court Says:

    We totally agree with teaching Kaiya to have some ownership in her dominion and help out with stuff. It goes a lot smoother in my mind though for some reason.

  4. suzicate Says:

    When the interest wanes, like about the time they hit teenage years, money talks!

  5. Ink Says:

    Tee hee! I’ll buy your book, Fae!

  6. faemom Says:

    Maureen~ I grew up doing chores, and I think it helps teach kids responsibility. Of course, we did give our parents hell for it.
    Brae~ I bet that grates on the nerves.
    Court~ Oh, there are times when I have to take a hand and actually make it pick something up and put it away.
    suzicate~ I bet it will. So will privledges like borrowing the car or going to the movies.
    Ink~ By the time I feel qualified to write one, you can buy it for your daughters-in-law.

  7. Gibby Says:

    Yeah, good for you, Fae! Now if only you can train them to change diapers…

  8. zeemaid Says:

    *LOL* good for you fae. I was worried that I was expecting to0 much by getting my 6 year old to put her clothes in the washer machine. I do the rest like folding mainly because I’m too anal about how its folded but she has to put it away in her drawers.

  9. wild4words Says:

    OH! I love child labor. It’s getting us all coordinated that is hard. I’m still working on trying to get a magic house fairy. MHF plus child labor = me happy.

    It’s a thought, anyway. (and no, I haven’t had any coffee yet this morning… just wait, it will get better)

  10. faemom Says:

    Gibby~ Evan keeps telling me that daddies don’t change diapers, so I’ll have to work on that.
    zeemaid~ Way too go. I’m always wondering if I’m expecting too much or too little. I think they have a book.
    w4w~ A magic house fairy would be awesome! When you get one, let me know how you like it and what you did.


Leave a Reply

