I’m learning so much

Last week I had a lot of fun coming up with things I learned over the week.  I thought I would do it again.  Besides I’m running late because we were at the park with some of Tornado E’s friends.  You know, trying to make my child more socially ready for kindergarten.  So here are the ten things I learned this week.

  1. My children are mooches.  Open some kind of snack and they will be asking for some.
  2. My children actually use “please” and “thank you” when they want something real bad, like someone else’s grapes or M&M’s.
  3. My grandma warned me that children and husbands will make a liar out of you every time; she told me to see what happens the first time I tell someone Tornado E doesn’t like to eat something.  Apparently, I’ll turn around and find him eating it.  So who’s going to invite us over so Tornado E can eat broccoli?
  4. I really think my grandmothers are going crazy.  I’m hoping it’s not hereditary.
  5. The Husband cannot remember to throw out his tea bags.  CAN NOT REMEMBER.  But he’ll toss out the bread crusts I was drying for bread crumbs.
  6. Tell a four year old if he gets the room cleaned in ten minutes he can have a bowl of marshmallows, and he’ll get it done in seven.  Sweet.
  7. My mom likes to talk during story time.  I feel like a hypocrite.
  8. My old college roommate has figured out how to name my child.  She just keeps randomly telling me the name she thinks is perfect, and I’m starting to believe her.
  9. If a Yoda figure doesn’t have a head, children will still play with it.
  10. According to one cleaning/organizing book, you’re suppose to vacuum every day.  Let that digest.  Then have a good laugh.

Vote for my post on Mom Blog Network

12 Responses to “I’m learning so much”

  1. lwayswright Says:

    I love the last one about vacuuming….did that person have children? A family? a Job? or a life???? I’m lucky if I vacuum once a week!

  2. ck Says:

    I wish I vacuumed every day. That would mean that someone else was dealing with my kids and the meals and the dog. Sounds great to me!

  3. Brae Says:

    LOL. It’s all true. TRUE I TELL YOU!!!! And I HATE how I’ll go, at any given time, to the sink and find 5 or6 tea bags there. Is is so much harder to put them in the garbage than in the sink? (DH makes his tea a whole pot at a time and likes it heavy on the taste so he steeps a lot of bags.)

  4. kimberley5949 Says:

    I am curious about that book. Maybe the author is obsessed in cleanliness or the vacuum itself. that was funny.

  5. itneverrainsinseattle Says:

    You had recently posted “pet peeves”, and this list (number 5 esp.) brings it all back to mind. My wife has a similar bent with regard to leaving tea bags around.

    And leaving tea mugs half full. All over the house.

    All. Over. The. House.

    And then, if she’s washing dishes (we both share in this chore), she’ll mutter under her breath about how she hates it when *some people* leave milk in their glasses and the glasses become harder to clean as a result. Meanwhile, my favorite mugs are becoming tea-stained.

    Tea. Bah.

  6. Jane Says:

    I am totally stilling the tactic from #6! (There’s a little something for you over at my blog today! 🙂

  7. zeemaid Says:

    *LOL* it is so true. and yes I laughed at #10.
    HAH maybe once a week if I’m extra ambitious. *L*

  8. faemom Says:

    lwayswright~ Obviously this person’s job IS being organized and clean. No one else could do it.
    ck~ I never thought about it like that. Good point!
    Brae~ I let them build up in hopes that the mountain will be removed. *sigh* No such luck.
    kimberley~ The author is Cynthia Townley Ewer, and she has her own website, Organizedhome.com. You can be the judge of her obsession.
    INRIS~ The Husband leaves mugs around the home office partially filled with tea. Sometimes it takes for a mold garden to grow before he brings it to me. I have to bleach our mugs every month to get rid of the tea stains.
    Jane~ Don’t get too excited. It didn’t work on Saturday. “I don’t want marshmallows, Mommy.” UGH!
    zeemaid~ God! I know! Though at our old house, I did the family room every other day because the carpet was so stained. Yuck.

  9. Gibby Says:

    I used to vacuum every day when we first got our puppy. But then I got used to the hair balls floating around and decided to cut down on my efforts. It’s all good!

  10. faemom Says:

    That’s why I’m never having an indoor dog again. We had pugs. They shed enough for two. Yuck.

  11. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    Vacuum every day? Ummm, OCD a little? Yikes!

  12. faemom Says:

    I know! Who has the time to do that?!


Leave a Reply

