It ain’t for wimps

The Husband thinks he can do my job.  It’s a point of contention between us, especially when he throws it out in a middle of an argument.  Obviously it’s times when he’s not thinking rationally.

Today he was working in his office while I tried to get the boys to clean the HUUUUUGE mess they made of their toys and the family room.  Tornado E was sent to time out because he didn’t listen when I told him “no” when he decided to take apart the potty training seat.  Tornado S was sent to time out because he stopped in the middle of putting toys away to fling the basket he was filling with toys around, making a giant circle of strewn toys.  After time outs were done, I noticed their nails needed clipping, so I started on Tornado E as I repeatedly told Tornado S to put the toys in the basket with The Husband’s commenting “It puts the lotion in the basket.”  Yeah, not helping.  Then it was Tornado S’s turn to get his fingernails done.  Apparently Tornado S feels that cutting his nails is the same thing as pulling them off with needle-nose pliers and loudly protests the whole thing.  After trimming ten fingernails and ten toenails, the noise fell to just crying.

The Husband: (still from the office) Wow.  That’s rough.

Me: So you still want custody of the children?

The Husband: No.

Yeah, that’s what I thought.

14 Responses to “It ain’t for wimps”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Amen! Once a year, I take a week by myself to visit my sister in another state. That’s all it takes each year for my husband to appreciate me for the next 365 days, until my next trip comes around.

  2. itneverrainsinseattle Says:

    I still don’t understand men who don’t get into the whole parenting thing. Changing diapers, putting kids to bed, getting them up in the morning, making their lunch, helping with homework, getting them to clean up, saying “no”, saying “yes”, wiping noses, wiping butts, force feeding them medicine, getting them dressed… it’s all part of the package, along with the hugs and kisses and innocent questions and happy faces.

    All. Part. Of. The. Package.

    Any man who skips on part misses out on the whole package. And it’s his loss. No wonder so many kids are more attached to their moms than they are to their dads.

    (That said, I’m still ready to be done with changing wet sheets in the middle of the night for our potty-training-at-night child. Ergh.)

    Here’s something else I don’t understand. Why wouldn’t a woman (namely my wife) recognize that a man who does all these things is, well, worth trying to keep?

  3. zeemaid Says:

    some men are just like that. Fortunately for me, hubby has always had to do his share of at least caring for the kids while I worked. Of course, it’s my contention that he has the easiest part, 2 hours and then it’s bed vs my 8+ hours.

  4. ck Says:

    I’ve had my job listed on the market for 5 years now. Not one application. Including my husband. He’s not interested in it either.

  5. Fie upon this quiet life Says:

    To itneverrainsinseattle — on behalf of womankind, thanks for being a true partner in childrearing. Why your wife doesn’t appreciate you, I don’t know. Maybe it’s the mommy pressure. My hubby helps with a lot, too, but even he still can’t fathom the depth of shit moms have to wade through. It’s not that he doesn’t try to understand. It’s just that if you aren’t a mom, it’s very difficult to understand.

    Moms are the center of existance in the family. I often feel like I’m a large chicken who is slowly being plucked by everyone in the family. Everyone wants a piece of me, and it is hard. You can’t be everything to everyone all the time. But a mom is expected to be just that.

    I like the idea of taking a week-long vacation alone. It would really show him and the kids what I’m worth.

  6. faemom Says:

    Lisa~ That is brilliant. So how long does it take for the appreciation to wear off.
    INRIS~ Even if your wife doesn’t appreciate you, know that your boys will. You are being a wonderful father to them and giving them an excellent example of fatherhood. Besides several of us think you’re pretty cool too.
    zeemaid~ I’m glad your husband pitches in. Hopefully he doesn’t think that two hours is the whole deal, eh?
    ck~ Let me know when you have a taker. Maybe that person would know someone who would take my job . . . at least part time.
    FUTQL~ You make a great point about being everything to everyone in the family. It’s so true. I second your week off trip!

  7. Jane Says:

    My husband was the same way — until I left for the entire day when they were toddlers. I couldn’t take it anymore. I went and had my nails done, out to lunch, to a movie and when I came back at dinner time I was treated like a goddess. Try it, it works! (I’d love to do the week long trip like Lisa but I think my husband would divorce me)

  8. Maureen@IslandRoar Says:

    Yeah, they talk a big game. But clearly they can’t handle it!!

  9. Gibby Says:

    Ha ha! Last September I went on a girls’ weekend and as I was packing Hubs kept asking, “you’re coming back, right? promise you’re coming back?”

    Of course I used this to my advantage! 🙂

  10. faemom Says:

    Jane~ Unfortunantly, my husband has a short memory.
    Maureen~ Seriously. Bring it, dude.
    Gibby~ Good girl! Though I’m still chuckling over the image of your husband asking if you’re coming back.

  11. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    Miss M. acts like she’s having her small bowel removed with a spoon when I cut her nails. HATE it.

    I’m thinking you’re not getting any takers on your want ad…

  12. faemom Says:

    And Miss M is definantly older than Sean? Damnit! I was hoping it was a phase. And yeah, I think I need to lie more and say the boys are perfect angels with polished halos and everything. And bark “I love you” on command.

  13. femspotter Says:

    The Husband thinks he can do my job.

    Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!


Leave a Reply

