What is in a name?

We have a little problem.  Six weeks and still no name.  Heck, we don’t have a final list.  But here are some suggestions and who suggested it.

Tornado E: Kevin

Our buddy J: Jeffrey (Can you guess what are buddy’s name is?)

My old college roommate: Liam (Though we have an L last name, so I wonder how it would sound.)

Tornado E: Lightening

The Friendly Giant: Seven (He’s been pushing this since Tornado E’s conception.)

The Husband: Tristan

Tornado E: Peasant

My dad: Doctor (Because it’s the easiest way to get a doctor in the family.)

The Friendly Giant: Jacoby

The Husband: Owen

My grandma: Philip (After her and her father)

Tornado E: Darth

Tornado E: Schmevan

Me: Collin, Cullen, Leland

Of course my roommate keeps texting and calling me to convince me on Liam.  She might have me hooked, though now The Husband, who used to like it, is balking.  As you notice we have a thing for 4 letter Gaelic names.   I’m big on knowing what a name means and fitting it to the child in some way.  But if we can’t figure this out in four weeks, I’m actually considering letting you all name the baby.

19 Responses to “What is in a name?”

  1. Kat Says:

    Zion

  2. Kat Says:

    Zion, Zeke, or Atom… those are the 3 names I said I would use if I ever had a boy. Well the last is more of a joke… Kinda

  3. ck Says:

    I don’t know. I’m pretty partial to Peasant, myself.

  4. Maureen@IslandRoar Says:

    They are all wonderful!
    What a great dilemma to have, no?

  5. breaaire Says:

    http://www.babynamenetwork.com has a way that you can look up gaelic boy names. Just an idea? *shrug* Personally, I’m fond of Ian and Max.

  6. joz1234 Says:

    I like Gabriel

  7. joz1234 Says:

    or Matthew

  8. maplegirlmusic Says:

    I’m a big fan of Max and Finn! {smirk}

    Liam is a very popular name right now. Are you comfortable with a name that lots of boys will have? Just something to think about…

    Iain is nice spelled like this – the Gaelic way…

    There are so many. Thing is, you’ll know exactly what it should be when he arrives, right? (at least that was the case with my kids…)

    Good luck!

  9. CynthiaK Says:

    by the way, that last comment (maplegirlmusic) was me. Logged into the wrong account… 😉

  10. kimberley5949 Says:

    Liam is a cute name it means Will, desire and protection. I like Cairo because it means Victorious man. 🙂

  11. incognitomom Says:

    Not sure if you’re aware, but both Evan and Sean are both forms of John. So, why not give the boys all something in common and name this baby another form of John. Ian is the closest Galic form I can find at the moment if you wanted to stick with Galic names. Or just name him John.

  12. incognitomom Says:

    Um, yeah I meant Gaelic.

  13. jc Says:

    Luke…. to go with Darth! or just Skywalker.

  14. itneverrainsinseattle Says:

    Allow me to suggest that “Inris” has a nice sound to it. 😛

  15. Gibby Says:

    If I had ended up with a boy, Liam was on our short list. Love it. Especially since Hubs was threatening to use Dingo. Don’t ask…

  16. faemom Says:

    Kat~ Aren’t you going to need those names?
    ck~ It’s all The Husband’s fault. We were talking about names right before story time, and he said the name of the character of tonight’s book will be the baby’s name. Paesant Pig. Awesome.
    Maureen~ I’ll let you know after the kid’s born without a name.
    breaaire~ Thanks for the link. I’ll totally check it out. Not bad names either.
    joz~ Thanks for the suggestions, though we already have a Matthew in the family.
    Cynthia K~ I had no idea Liam was on the rise. Thanks for the warning. I always loved Aiden, but that’s so popular. And do you really want me to name my boy after yours’?
    kimberly~ You just proven that I haven’t done all my homework yet because for some reason I didn’t know what Liam means. Maybe this name debate is all my fault for not doing my homework and then being pigheaded.
    incognito~ I was aware of the John connection, that’s why Sean out trumped Owen. Ian might be worth considering.
    jc~ Hehehe. We’ve totally talked about Luke.
    INRINS~ *roll of eyes* I’ll put it on the list.
    Gibby~ I understand. My dad threatened Ebenezer when my mom was pregnant with me.

  17. Kat Says:

    I take it you haven’t heard? Give wally or me a call. We lost the baby but we will try again in a year or so.

  18. femspotter Says:

    I like Erik, Finn, Colm or Kurt…per your specifications.

  19. femspotter Says:

    Oooh, I also like Ivor.


Leave a Reply

