Conversation in my head

The boys love watching the fish at Wal-Mart.  I should buy them a small tank with a few fish.

Am I crazy?  Who will be feeding and cleaning said fish?  I’m about to have a baby.  I barely have time to water the plants.  Wait- what day is this?  Excuse me.

But they would be so happy with the fish.  Maybe it would be a perfect gift for when the baby comes.  It’ll give them something to take care of and make them feel big.

Did you not hear me before?  Are you crazy?  The responsibility would fall on your shoulders.  Like everything else.

I took care of Fish well enough.

Fish was a survivor.  We could have won money if we trained him to fight.  You let him go green half the time.  What kind of responsibility would that be teaching?

This would be like training for a real pet like a puppy in a year or two.

Um, don’t you remember what you told The Husband?  No pets until everyone in the household can and does pick up after themselves.

The Husband wanted a cow.  For milking.

It’s still a good rule.  Who picked up Mr. Burns’ poop when he was with us?

Point taken.  Fine.

I’m glad you can see reason.  Even if this all took place in your head.

At least it wasn’t out loud.  As usual.

Point taken.

But still a couple of fish . . . .

Lord.  Feed me some chocolate.  We’ll discuss this later.

12 Responses to “Conversation in my head”

  1. joz1234 Says:

    LOL! I needed that. I’ve never had a two person conversation in my head. As for the fish…nah. As for the dog…double nah. You seem to get an aching for new things when you’re nesting. 🙂

  2. Country-Fried Mama Says:

    I have this same conversation with myself often. I have a 3-year-old lobbying hard for a dog, and when I get at all close to considering the request, I realize that I am already responsible for the waste products of too many other creatures.

    But maybe the baby could bring the boys a fish as a present? And then, you know, the baby could take care of it?

  3. Maureen@IslandRoar Says:

    Eat the chocolate and forget the fish! If you still want them buy them when the baby is 4 months old (just picked that age out of a big hat in my room). Not that it’s any of my business…

  4. Gibby Says:

    Funny stuff, Fae!!! Poonch has a fish tank, and let me be frank…sometimes I feel like our 80lb black lab is easier to take care of than that fish tank.

    I’m not kidding.

  5. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    Noooooo! Don’t get the fish, Fae! They’ll be floating in a day and then…the drama.

  6. ck Says:

    OR you could get a Betta fish. Ours, Sid the Science Fish, is suicidal and he’s STILL alive. They’re pretty hearty.

  7. faemom Says:

    joz~ This is the weirdest nesting urge EvEr, if that’s what it is.
    CFM~ Maybe the baby could take care of it! Great idea!
    Maureen~ I like the way you think. Where’s my chocolate?
    Gibby~ My brother got Evan a big fish tank for Evan’s 1st birthday. It was a pain. I was thinking smaller. But then I could be crazy.
    TKW~ Ah, the circle of life. Good point.
    ck~ Good thought! Fish was a Betta. He did well (until some jerk put tap water in his bowl. No, I’m not bitter. Motherf-) Sequel was also a Betta, but he commited suicide. And the pain never goes away when you realize he choose death over life with me.

  8. itneverrainsinseattle Says:

    Sequel committed suicide?

    “Honest, officer, he jumped out of the fish bowl and into the toilet bowl. For real!”

  9. jc Says:

    Sea monkeys!!!!!!

  10. jc Says:

    or a butterfly kit!!!!

  11. zeemaid Says:

    you just buy a small tank. emphasis on small. That’s what we have… one goldfish and since we found the right kind of fish food, it hardly ever goes pink anymore. Just a drop of the clean fish tank water solution every so often… it’s not that bad really. Course i forget to feed the fish half the time cause it’s supposed to be hub’s responsibility and he forgets the other half but still the fish is alive and er kicking swimming away for a while now. 😉

  12. faemom Says:

    INRIS~ The reader’s digest: Sequel was living in a giant margarita glass on top of a stereo speaker. One morning I noticed he was gone and looked all over, but since I couldn’t find him, I assumed my husband and/or the roommate were playing a prank. That night everyone denied involvement. A week later I found a crispy Sequel poking out from underneath the speaker. The sick thing is the roommate was like “Oh, I saw him there the other day.” Jerk.
    jc~ Sea Monkeys are a brilliant idea. Ink has scared me off from the butterfly kit.
    zeemaid~ Hmmm, that might be an idea. What they have clean fish tank water solution? I’m sold.


Leave a Reply

