A Quick Note from a Sleep Deprived Mama

I think it’s going to take a little longer than planned to put up The Tornado A Birth Saga.  As I’m only a few paragraphs in and I was called away by a baby that thinks it should have gas this early in his life.  Pre-Chocolate!  So I don’t know how I gave it to him, since I haven’t consumed any of the usual suspects.  But I will.  Oh, I will.  So instead of the baby saga, I’ll post little antidotes.  Because I don’t have a lot of time right now.  Because Tornado E and Tornado S have cracked me up so well so often lately.  Because I can hardly string to coherent sentences together beyond “Could you hold the baby?” and “Could you go pick up Tornado E from school?”  (Note to self: Ask The Husband in a two minutes to pick up Tornado E.)

As I waited for my dreaded first bowel movement, I read the label of that awesome pain reliever spray the nurses send you home with after having a baby.  (God Bless the spray since my mom has said twice already, “Fae, she did give you quite a few stitches.”  Yes, I know.  I felt every damn one.  Ok, where was I?) Spray.  The spray says to use it no more than two to three times a day.  You know, unlike what the nurses say to use, which is like every time you pee, which should be like eight times or so.  I like the nurses’ instructions better.  Much Better.

12 Responses to “A Quick Note from a Sleep Deprived Mama”

  1. Maranda Says:

    Hang in there mama. You just did the greatest most self-less thing anyone could do. You’re doing a great job- I wish you speedy, pain-free healing and rest 🙂

  2. Jane Says:

    Oh, the dreaded first poop! I’m so glad you lived to tell the tale!

  3. beth aka confusedhomemaker Says:

    Congrats sweetie!! Don’t worry about rushing the post or the poop (although the latter is better to just get over with).

  4. Steel Magnolia Says:

    Wow. So our decision to stop at 2 babies is a good idea, huh? LOL!
    Congratulations on your potty achievement! Healing blessings to you!

  5. Fie Upon This Quiet Life Says:

    Saga! Stitches! Spray! Oh my! I’m sending you lots of positive thoughts and blessings. I hope that you start feeling better ASAP! Order people around as much as you can. I hope that you are getting a LOT of help! Best to you and family!

  6. Ink Says:

    Hugs, Fae!!! You sound sleepy but soooooo happy! And I agree w/Fie: order those people around. Congrats again, friend!

  7. The Violinist Says:

    i think i chugged milk of magnesia for a month after E was born, but it wasn’t because of the stitches (i think i only had 6) but because of the monster ‘roids. i was a big fan of the spray. and the Rx strength ‘roid cream my nurse gave me…

    hope all is well 🙂

  8. The Violinist Says:

    oh, and i might have only had 6 stitches, but i felt each of them as well..stupid worn off epidural.

  9. Gibby Says:

    Oh, the joys of the weeks after…yuck!!! I remember I felt like I gave birth again when I managed my first poop. Hope you are getting some rest!

  10. jen Says:

    Welcome to THREE!

  11. Court Says:

    So happy for you Fae. And so proud of you. Two whole coherent paragraphs, that is huge! Yay new life, welcome Aidan (what a great name) 🙂

  12. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    I am so very late to this, but I wanted to say congrats! Woo-hoo! Welcome, baby Aidan!


Leave a Reply

