Learning and relearning this week

  1. I am not superwoman, and I need to rest.
  2. Breastfeeding is hard . . . . at first, but more on that in another post.
  3. Nothing is more sweet or dangerous than big brother love.
  4. The best meal you’ll ever have is after you give birth.  Even if it’s a plain cafeteria turkey sandwich. 
  5. The Husband and I have very different ideas on what a “clean house” means.
  6. The Husband and I have very different ideas what is grocery shopping, what a list should include, and how much money to spend.
  7. My breasts need to be informed that I did not give birth to triplets and should stop producing milk as though I had.
  8. When one child pees the bath and I replace the water, I do not care if the other one pees in it; I just add more water and soap.
  9. It’s ok to ask for help.  It’s ok to ask for help.  It’s ok to ask for help.
  10. No matter how many babies you have had, you will always check to make sure that newborn is still breathing several hundred times a day.
9 Responses to “Learning and relearning this week”

  1. ck Says:

    3. (violent, forceful, insistent) Big sister love too.
    4. Yes!
    5. YES!
    9. Let me know if you figure out a way to accomplish that guilt-free.

    much love to you, Fae! even with all this going on you find time to blog. you’re a rock star. 🙂

  2. Jen Says:

    Yes, do we moms of newborns ever stop putting our cheeks to our infants’ mouths, holding our own breath while we wait to feel the soft tickle of baby breathing.
    Ask for help so you can be the one watching the baby breathe. 🙂

  3. blackhuff Says:

    It’s always ok to ask for help, every mother should know that.

  4. beth aka confusedhomemaker Says:

    Ask for help.

    I didn’t with #4 & I believe it contributed to everything that didn’t go well there. I asked for it with #2 & #3, but thought I had it all under control the last time. Turns out that help is ALWAYS needed. So ask for help, put your feet up, & remember that the days go by fast so try to take in any down time you can.

    I also had a turkey sandwich after my kids, I agree it was the best meal ever because it was food.

  5. Gibby Says:

    I remember after the first time I gave birth reading the hospital menu, amazed that nothing was off-limits and that I could eat anything. And it all sounded so GOOD!!

    Ask for help, Fae! I wish I lived close so that I could come over!

  6. Fie Upon This Quiet Life Says:

    Yes! That meal after delivery is delicious. One of our friends brought us gourmet sandwiches after our #2 was born, and despite the gigantic size of the sandwiches, I ate and ate and ate and ate. It was amazing.

    Breastfeeding IS hard, even after you know how to do it. The baby doesn’t know how, so it’s always a learning experience. I was surprised my nipples were so sore this time around, but I used lanolin from the get-go, and it helped a lot. Still, I think it was a month before my nipples were pain free while nursing. Once they were toughened up, we were good to go. The engorgement was difficult to deal with, but I pumped some and stored the extra milk in the freezer for later date nights. 🙂

    I also really, really, really recommend the Angel Care movement and sound monitor that you can put under the crib mattress. It can pick up the motion of the baby breathing, and if he were to stop, it would beep like crazy. It has given me so much peace of mind since my baby was hospitalized. It’s about 150 bucks or so, but SO worth it. Get thee to babies r us and buy one! Then again, if you’re co-sleeping, then it’s useless.

    Yes, if you have people you can ask for help – ask!!

    I’m with you on the hubby thing. My hubby went the the store last weekend and spend 320 dollars on groceries. I was so shocked and astounded. And he bought a lot of stuff that we don’t typically use. Have we used it this week? Nope. Will it go bad before we have a chance? Probably. What a freaking waste. We can’t go through that much food by the time it would go bad. I suppose we could freeze it. But we don’t have much freezer space. Besides, I wouldn’t use frozen strawberries the same way I would fresh ones. OH well.

  7. clovertaco Says:

    #4 is so true. Once I had my epidural all I could think about was thai food and how I was going to make my husband run out for some after this was all done:)

    My bliss meal after birth was a soggy tuna sandwich but it was the most INCREDIBLE tuna sandwich in ever! It didn’t even bother me when the sandwich came back up 30 minutes later.

  8. parenting BY dummies Says:

    Okay. Looks like I’m a week or so late, but I’m here! CONGRATULATIONS! So, so happy for you. Looks like things are going, um, okay? It’s usually just “okay” this early, so I’m guessing that’s a safe assessment. Ask for help. Yes. Do that, because the offers dry up soon. Wish I was closer. I would volunteer because I LOVE holding other people’s babies while they do stuff like clean up or play with their bigger kids or make dinner. I’m helpful like that:)

  9. femspotter Says:

    I already know about 5 and 6. (femspotter shakes her head)


Leave a Reply

