Take my children, please.

My sons are alive today at this moment because I’m a saint.  Ok, I might be exaggerating a little but not by much.

Tornado E is on the throttle taking a supervillan’s pleasure in antagonizing the hell out of Tornado S.  Tornado S retaliates by either hitting or screaming or both.  This has been going on for several days, perhaps even weeks.  Then today the screaming started before 7am.  Then while I was feeding Tornado A his mid-morning meal, the boys that would be an absolutely awesome idea to wash their hair with hand soap.  And to make matters even more fun, Tornado S poured a water bottle filled with water onto the kitchen floor.

I wanted to scream.  I wanted to beat.  I wanted to send everyone to time out for hours.

Instead, I placed a sleeping Tornado A in his bassinet.  I told Tornado E to figure out how he was going to get soap out of his hair.  I gave Tornado S a rag to dry up the water.

But I fear I’m losing control.  I have to repeat myself several times to get them to do what I ask.  Tornado E is now name calling.  Tornado S cries and screeches when things don’t go his way.  It’s like pulling teeth to get them to pick up their toys or get ready for bed.

I’m not sure if this is a phase.  But I’ve been telling everyone it is.  I don’t know if they’re just testing the lines.  I don’t know if this has something to do with having a new baby in the house.  I don’t know if this has to do with their allergies acting up.

I do think if I started cracking down, they would be in time out all the time.  Which might have to be done.  And I wonder if I spent more time with them having fun that they wouldn’t act out so much.  But I spend Tornado A’s nap time trying to get them to clean and yelling at them as they pick on each other.  I just hate the yelling all the time.

8 Responses to “Take my children, please.”

  1. Marcie11 Says:

    I understand the feeling very well. what helped me was to get the kids involved in other activities outside of the home, like basketball, tennis, soccer etc. being with other kids their age helps and work. try it and then let me know how it works out.

  2. Lisa Says:

    Yes, you must be a saint. It will get better. In 18 years or so.

  3. Gibby Says:

    Um, spring fever? Yeah, yeah, that’s it! Should be over any day now…

  4. joz1234 Says:

    you are a saint, and I am living through you right now to see how it will be for me in November! I’m remembering Bert got like this shortly after Ernie was born. You are spending so much time with the baby nursing, rocking, etc…that it is taking some getting used too. Another thing that I remember is that I was more lax on things because I had my hands full, and Bert would take advantage of it every moment he thought he could slide by being bad. If I was nursing, it was the worst! I couldn’t hardly delatch, put baby down screaming and go after the boy to get onto him…and he quickly figured out that I was useless bossing him around from the chair…so that equaled me yelling and him ignoring me. Hang in there. I suspect it will get better, but not before it drives you a little insane because you have to be the bad guy.

    Hugs!

  5. Fie Upon This Quiet Life Says:

    Uh, yeah. Eldest has been worse and worse since the baby was born. The bad part for you is that you have two elders, so they are kind of ganging up on you. I think cracking down is appropriate. I also think, though, that you may get a lot of miles out of a little gesture of kindness to each of them once a day. I have found that when I try to snuggle with eldest, or give him a hug, that will buy me some time where he’s not being a hellion. That may sound like I’m hugging/kissing when I’d rather throttle him — and that wouldn’t be too far wrong. But it helps his behavior. And I, like you, am desperate. Good luck. Three kids? That’s MAJOR. Hugs.

  6. ck Says:

    We’re going through a “yelling phase” too. As in, I’m yelling and they don’t hear me. I’m also telling myself it’s a phase because it makes me feel better. I can’t imagine going through it with a new baby, but I bet it would be the little girl version of your house, complete with whining and tiaras flying.

    ((((hugs, Fae)))) You’re doing a great job even if it doesn’t feel like it. give yourself a break. and if possible, some chocolate.

  7. Evenshine Says:

    First, hugs.

    Next, YOU CAN DO IT. You rock my socks.

    Next, yelling will not accomplish what you want it to. Swift justice will. Making them live the consequences of their actions will as well. Consistency will. Make a plan and stick to it. Time outs or separate rooms or nose on a wall or whatever. But do it all the time, without exception.

    As my Dad always said, “you’ve gotta outlast them”. And you will. ‘Cause you’re cool like that.

    Hang in there.

  8. Maureen@IslandRoar Says:

    It sounds like you are doing amazing. Kids react to good stresses too, and this is an adjustment time for all. Hang in there!


Leave a Reply

