10 Things about my mom

A Special Mother’s Day 10 things.  Ten random things about my mom.  Hopefully I remember to snag a picture today at my parents’ to post.

  1. My mom was born a pale skin, towhead to an olive-skin, brown-eyed, black-hair family.
  2. Her hair turned brown in her early twenties.
  3. Never, ever call my mom a brunette.  She’s a blonde.  Just ask her.
  4. My mom has had to wear glasses since the third grade.
  5. She hates horn-rimmed glass (though I find them cute).
  6. She’s an air force brat and enjoys dried beef on toast (aka Shit On a Shingle.  Yuck).
  7. She hates her birth name.
  8. She swears that if anything ever happened to my dad she’ll never remarry because that first year was such hell.
  9. She coached volleyball and softball and was a Girl Scout, Cub Scout, and Boy Scout leader.
  10. My mom made both my wedding cake and wedding dress despite the fact she originally disagreed with my pattern choice.

Happy Mother’s Day to my mom and to all my favorite moms out there!

4 Responses to “10 Things about my mom”

  1. Ink Says:

    What a great idea! She sounds like one awesome mom. Like you.

    Happy Mother’s Day to everyone over there!

  2. court Says:

    Yay! Awesome mom! Happy mommy day to you Fae!

  3. parenting BY dummies Says:

    Hey, my mom has been wearing glasses since 3rd grade too! She’s nearly as blind as a bat right now! Hope you had a happy mother’s day. And, to make your Monday I wrote about you on my blog today. That should make you smile pretty:)

  4. zeemaid Says:

    I like this list because it’s real and tells us a bit more than the standard “she’s a great mom” bit.

    THanks for Sharing… hope you had a great day with your three boys!


Leave a Reply

