What I miss

There are a few things I miss now that I’m a parent.  A day off.  A strike on chores.  A flat stomach.  Lesierly shopping.  But I mainly miss reading for hours on end. 

I loved taking an afternoon, curled up on a bed or sofa, reading a great book, devouring every page.  , Moving only when I needed a bathroom breakI would have drinks and snacks in easy reach.  Hell, sometimes I would even ignore the phone.

God, I envy people who can do that.

As my mom and I sat through story time, we learned that we too could enroll in a summer reading program like the boys.

Me: (whispering) We should do that.

Mom: (whispering) Maybe we could get a pencil and stickers too.

See, where I get my sarcasm?

Me: (whispering)  We would probably get discount coupons.

Mom: (whispering) Sure, why not?

I nodded.

Mom: (whispering) You know people get all impressed when someone says she read fifty books.  But I read.  What?  About a hundred.

Me: (whispering) At least.

Mom: (whispering) I go through a book in three days.

It’s a sad world when a girl envies her mother and glares at her mom’s back during preschool story time.

6 Responses to “What I miss”

  1. Jane Says:

    Awww, but what a sweet relationship you both have. I envy you! Happy reading!

  2. zeemaið Says:

    I miss being by myself. I miss sick days of actually getting to be “sick” or just going out on the spur of the moment. I miss my knicknacks. Oh the list goes on. 😉

  3. jc Says:

    Stickers are a bazillion times better than discount coupons.

  4. Fie Upon This Quiet Life Says:

    I miss things, too, sometimes. And I get a little crazy and start making demands — like alone time, chore strikes, and a weekend marathon of reading. Hubby pretty much does what I say when I get that wild ferret look in my eye. He knows that if everything else is going to run smoothly, then I need “me” time every now and then. It is hard on him and the kids, but it would be a hell of a lot harder if I went nuts on them. I think you need to start making more demands!!

  5. Gibby Says:

    Ha ha, I love this post! I can totally picture you and your mom sitting there whispering this!

    I miss reading time, too. A lot.

  6. ck Says:

    I miss that SO much. Especially on rainy Saturdays when I want to gouge my eyes out with a pencil because certain little people in my house are “bored.”

    I miss being bored.

    (And I was totally glaring at your mom, too. Nicely, of course…)


Leave a Reply

