My commencement address: Ask someone else

I’ll admit it, I racked my brain for days, trying to come up with something. But I’m not wise. I wish I was. I could pass on better advice, and I would make better decision than I have. All I have are a few words that keep me company as I make my way in the world, and perhaps they would do you some good too.

There are mean people out there, and you just have to ignore them. Sometimes the meanest and darkest people won’t show their faces until you’ve learned to trust them. But that’s the chance you have to take to be close to people.

Trust your instincts. Most of the time, they’re spot on. We just don’t trust ourselves enough.

All knowledge is worth having. That’s why we have books.

Every one is afraid. It’s facing that fear that makes us brave. Unless you hear horror music playing in the background; then I would run. But not upstairs.

Don’t judge. Everyone is different and will accept different situations. Everyone has traveled different paths to be where they are. You and I won’t understand each other or any one else fully.

Everything is a phase. Some days will rock. Some days will roll. Some days will just plain suck.

Remember to be true to yourself because you have to live with yourself forever.

If you think this post is corny, there are dozens of smarter, funnier, wiser people who’ve written better. Check them out at your local library.

(To Jane, who dared us.  Check hers out and others.

6 Responses to “My commencement address: Ask someone else”

  1. Jane Says:

    I love your speech! And because it is short and sweet I’ll bet many graduates would love your speech, too! I especially love “Every one is afraid. It’s facing that fear that makes us brave. Unless you hear horror music playing in the background; then I would run. But not upstairs.” You crack me up! AND it rings so very, very true! Great job! Thanks for playing!

  2. Kate Says:

    I think all of your advice is wise. It take wisdom to know we don’t know everything… and to know when NOT to run upstairs. Even better, smart and funny.

  3. Ink Says:

    Actually, I think you are quiet wise indeed. And this awesome speech proves it.

    Honorary degree for you, Dr. Fae!

  4. And The Winner Is…… « Theycallmejane's Blog Says:

    […] Faemom at Faemom – She claims she is not wise. I beg to differ. More practical advice with a shot of wit thrown in for good measure. She cracked me up with: “Every one is afraid. It’s facing that fear that makes us brave. Unless you hear horror music playing in the background; then I would run. But not upstairs.” […]

  5. Aging Mommy Says:

    Hopped over to read this – I agree with Jane, lots of very wise advice I wish I had been privileged enough to read when I graduated. Congratulations on winning!

  6. ck Says:

    You are so right. We DON’T trust ourselves enough, especially when we’re young. And often the times that we do trust our instincts, we never find out what could’ve happened, so it’s hard to judge whether or not we’ve made the right decision.

    Man, it’s nice to be grown up sometimes. I’d hate to live through all that doubt again!


Leave a Reply

