A few requests

Mom with the kid throwing the tantrum- He was throwing it before you even pulled open the door.  I was outside with my own tantrum thrower.  Not only are you late.  Not only are you going in during the story.  You are bringing in a screaming, kicking, punching toddler.  Thanks.  So next time, why don’t you wait until your son is chill or just turn around and go home?

Mom with the kid running around- I’m sure I’ve been through this before.  Maybe you weren’t there the day I glared at the other mom who let her kid run around.  Your kid makes our kids want to run around.  It makes our jobs a billion times harder.  So why don’t you call the person back you’re talking to and actually parent?  Thanks.

To the moms talking- Would you like to explain what example you’re trying to set for your kids?  Like the rude person who doesn’t give a shit about the performer that said person came to see?  There are times and places to talk to fellow mommy-friends.  Like the park, McDonald’s, or even the parking lot.  So why don’t you stop talking so I can hear the thrilling conclusion of this riveting picture book read by a gentleman who talks down to us all?  Or just whisper, softly and quietly?

Finally.

The mom who’s so busy talking to her friend that she’s failing to notice the bully of a son hitting other children- Especially my child!  Especially since your son pushed my son to the ground and climbed on top of him and wouldn’t get off.  Luckily my son has an older brother and took it in stride, even if I wished my son would clobber yours.  Then once your little brat was on my radar I watched him try to take my son’s bean bag after he pummelled another child with his own bean bag.  So you can thank me for grabbing your kid off mine.  You can thank me for scolding your son for stealing bean bags and using them for weapons.  But now that I know who you are, next time I see your brat being a bully to my kid I’m going to march him straight up to you and explain, polite but firm, that your son’s behavior is out of line.  And yes, I took great glee in watching him run and stick to your side for the last five minutes of storytime.

7 Responses to “A few requests”

  1. Fie Upon This Quiet Life Says:

    I had to stop taking eldest to story time because he wouldn’t sit through it. It not only was a bad example to other kids but it embarrassed me that I couldn’t control him. I miss it, but I also know I can’t got back. He has the attention span of a gnat.

  2. Fie Upon This Quiet Life Says:

    Go back, that is. Stupid phone keyboard.

  3. zeemaid Says:

    I so don’t get that. If you want to yack.. attend one of those mom classes where the kids go play and then the moms go socialize in their own little room. Talk about rude.

  4. letmestartbysaying Says:

    This is why I think that all mothers should have those soccer penalty cards. Once we have kids, we have the right to hand out a yellow card (warning! foul play!) or an occasional red card (you’re OUTTA HERE) to other moms who aren’t making wise decisions when taking their kids out in public. I’m not saying I haven’t been forced to take 2 whiney, loud rambunctous kids into public now and again (and for that, possibly a calming mauve Sympathy Card could be handed out?). I’m talking about the frustrations you had to face, above, like the mom who doesn’t realize her kid is beating the crap outta other kids. She so derserves a red card.

  5. faemom Says:

    FUTQL~ I too have been the kid with the bratty kid that had to tackle him to keep him still. The eldest will grow out of it. Eventually.
    zeemaid~ I know! It’s just so annoying.
    letme~ I agree. Let’s implament the card system ASAP.

  6. Alex Says:

    Children take time and patience. But I can understand it’s test and trial!

  7. Gibby Says:

    Ugh, aren’t mothers ANNOYING?? LOL!


Leave a Reply

