Learning to Smile

It’s hard to figure out if humans are born with innate abilities and personalities or if they are born with a clean slate.  When learning this concept in college in both psychology 101 and philosophy 101, I figured it must be a combination, but I leaned towards being born with a few stuff.  I’ve met people with abilities that just couldn’t be all learned.

Then I had Tornado E.  I learned you have to teach  a baby to smile.  What smiling isn’t inherently known?  How could such a simple, easy act of affection not be ingrained in the human psyche from birth?  Smiling makes people happy.  It gets you stuff.  It makes you more likable.  And it gives you better wrinkles than frown lines.  I mean honestly, smile wrinkles are a million times better than frown lines.  A million times better.

So maybe we have more of a clean slate than I thought.  But then Tornado E’s personality grew, and I’m still on the fence.  I might have birthed a combination of my little brother and me.  Which is weird. Tornado E has his mother’s talking and story-telling abilities, but he’s an extrovert that is a daredevil with that damn mischievous twinkle in his eye. Tornado S is more steady, talks a lot, more cautious, and he’s defiantly an introvert.

Now there is Tornado A, who is cooing along in his rocker instead of being carted around the house as I work on cleaning it.  Tornado A is learning to smile.  He just gave me a whole bunch of them, inspiring this post and making my voice go up so high I sound like a cartoon character.  Last week, I caught his first smile on camera.  I realize his smile lights up my life, like Tornado E’s, Tornado S’s, The Husband’s.  It’s my shield against the darkness, the unknown,  or just the every day drudge of boredom of doing the same damn thing over and over again, like picking up that living room.  Stupid toys and shoes and books, oh wait, those are mine.

I realized I haven’t been smiling as much with all those demons I’ve been fighting.  So today I vow to smile more.  Until it kills me.  And maybe I can have my own shield or maybe someone else can use it.  And maybe I’ll be more optimistic too.  And maybe I can be happier.  And maybe . . . and maybe . . . and maybe it’ll bring world peace.  Or maybe I should just relax and smile.

5 Responses to “Learning to Smile”

  1. Ink Says:

    I hope you do smile, Fae. ((((((((((((((((((Fae))))))))))))))))))))

  2. letmestartbysaying Says:

    Smiling is good.
    Come pop over to my blog to see how I was reminded today to smile, too. 🙂

  3. Gibby Says:

    These precious packages are sent to us to teach us a few things, don’t you think? Smile, Fae!

    (BTW, I just want to let you know that I have been reading this summer, but mostly on my phone where it is a pain in the neck to comment. I’m still in the loop!)

  4. Dumb Mom Says:

    Try !!! over at badmommymoments it works! Swear it. Making it a point to participate has really changed this Dummy. Guess I need to do a little recon over here; it’s been a while since we chatted.

  5. rakster Says:

    Lovely thoughts.

    I concur on the smiling and small moments of joy. Some days now I just try to soak up the moments of joy.

    O was about 7 months old when he just started to have absolute fits of laughter. http://www.my-speck.com/2010/02/04/laugh-your-ass-of/

    we try to repeat frequently 🙂


Leave a Reply

