What is This?

Evan: Daddy, what is this?

The Husband: A penny.

Evan: No, Daddy!  What is this?

The Husband: A penny, Evan.

Evan: No!  What is this?

The Husband: The head of Lincoln.  Get in the car, Evan.

Evan: No, Daddy!  What is this?

The Husband: Evan!  Get in the car!

Me: Evan.  One side is the head of Lincoln and the other side is the Lincoln Memorial.

Evan:  But what is this?!

The Husband: Get in the car, and I’ll look at it.

Evan: But Daddy-

The Husband: Get into your seat!

I buckled Evan in, and The Husband and I got into the car.  I started the car and began to back out of the parking space.

Evan: Daddy!  Now can you tell me what it is?

The Husband examined the penny.

The Husband: This side is the profile of Abraham Lincoln.  And this side is the Lincoln Memorial.  It’s in Washington, D.C.

Me: And I’ve been there, and one day, we’ll take you there.

Evan looked at the penny.

Evan:  I have an idea!  Let’s play a game.  Heads or memorials!

The Husband and I exchanged a look.

The Husband: The kid’s too damn smart.

Me: I know.

5 Responses to “What is This?”

  1. zeemaid Says:

    HAH! He IS way too smart.

  2. db Says:

    Hahaha.. soo cute! 🙂 You definitely have your hands full with those boys

  3. Fie Upon This Quiet Life Says:

    If I had a dime for every “what is that” that I get, I could retire in London twenty minutes ago. Sigh.

  4. Jane Says:

    Life these little slices of your life! Your kids/husband/insight is always entertaining!


Leave a Reply

