Anti-climatic

For weeks I’ve been on the verge of tears or having an anxiety attack or both because My Baby is going to Kindergarten.  MY BABY IS GOING TO KINDERGARTEN!

Tornado E: Mommy, I’m not a baby!  I’m a big boy!

Me: Shhh!  Mommy’s freaking out right now.  Please don’t interrupt.

I didn’t have to go shopping because his backpack from last year was hardly touched and someone bought him a really cool pirate lunchbox.  Sure, I had to buy containers, and I’ve been scouring the web for excellent lunch ideas.  (Any one have any?)

I didn’t have tons of questions at the kindergarten orientation.  Tornado E has talked of nothing else since last week.

I borrowed from the Supernanny and made a morning chart with Velcro so that I didn’t have to use stickers and forgetting to put said stickers on the chart.  Of course, I couldn’t lay out a plan of which should be done first because that just seemed to anal.  I let them put Velcro pirate coins under each chore.

So we were up at our regular 6am.  I fed Tornado A as the boys watched cartoons.  They ate as I did as I emptied the dishwasher.  Tornado E and Tornado S made their beds, got dressed, brushed their teeth, combed their teeth, and washed their faces with minimal prodding.  We even picked up toys.  I got to shower and dress; while, the boys watched more cartoons.  The Husband even got into the shower.

We arrived a little early for pictures and all the fanfare.

As I signed Tornado E in, I caught him walking into the classroom.

Me: Tornado E.  Go hug and kiss your daddy goodbye.

He turned around.  I finished signing Tornado E in, just to see him sneak into the classroom.

Me: Tornado E.  Come give me a kiss and a hug goodbye.

He dutifully came up to me and hugged and kissed me.  Then he ran off into the classroom without a look backwards.

My baby.

In kindergarten.

Tornado S: Mommy!  I want to go to school!  I want to go to preschool!

Sshh.  Mommy is freaking out.  Please be quiet.  And come home with me.

8 Responses to “Anti-climatic”

  1. Brea Says:

    Isn’t it awful when you get smacked in the face with those adorable little wings they sprout? Ugh. My baby is now going into Junior High. The last little birdie *sob*.
    (I’ll just be over here with the Kleenex if you’re lookin’ for them!)

  2. incognitomom Says:

    Wow, Kindergarten already? Where did the time go? I hope he never stops wanting to go to school. Sean, too. Shorty already gives me a fight on school days. It’s to the point that I am almost wondering why I send him to preschool. (Is it the school or does he just not like getting up in the morning? If I keep pushing this will he completely dread school before he even starts Kindergarten?) Oops, sorry, this isn’t supposed to be about me and Shorty.

    Yay Evan for starting Kindergarten. And don’t worry mommy, it will get easier. Besides you’ll really cry when Aidan goes to school since he will be the last (or if there is another baby then when that one goes).

  3. Jane Says:

    The only thing I can say is don’t obsess about creative lunches. I did. And now? All they (yes, they. Both boys) want is turkey sandwiches. Whenever I slip something else in there, they complain that what they really want is….turkey sandwiches. Every. Single. Day. Ahhh, the best laid plans…….

  4. TheKitchenWitch Says:

    Miss D. couldn’t even be bothered with a hug–she blew me a kiss, running full-tilt towards the classroom door. Knife in the heart.

  5. zeemaid Says:

    Awww. How you hanging in there?

    I have to confess, I was relieved when my oldest started kindergarten. It just made half my day so much easier having her gone because I had my hands full with the younger two and I knew she was having more fun being at school. But now my second is starting full day kindergarten this September and I’m starting to feel a little panicky about what I’m going to do with only 1 kid at home.

    I hope Evan had a great day!

  6. Average Girl Says:

    Oh, I know exactly how you feel. I remember that day, and now that same baby (my oldest) is starting high school. Now, go cling onto your other little man — time goes to fast! Best of luck~

  7. rakster Says:

    aaagh.. I’m worried about myself already. I worry cause he cries when I leave him at daycare, now I’m going to worry that he will stop crying when I leave him at daycare…

    Hope you pulled through the day ok.

  8. alex marestaing Says:

    I remember that feeling as well, in fact, I’m feeling it again as my daughter heads off to jr. high. Great times parenting ahead, different, but still great.


Leave a Reply

